British Airways long haul Business Class Airbus A321

In our online check-in for the return flight with British Airways to Oslo, I was just confused by the seat assembly. Two seats, a single seat and then two seats. That looks after a business class á la Swiss ?! A “right one” Business Class on European flights? We can easily surprise us…

BA Galleries First Lounge in the early morning

BA Galleries First Lounge in the early morning

Between our arrival and the flight to Oslo was still time of BA Galleries First Lounge pay a visit. When the call for boarding takes place, we make our way into the “Keller”, So we will enter our plane by bus.

Boarding

We enter the Airbus on the gangway and in fact, the presentation at check-in was correct. I refer to the so-called. “throne” place. What a feeling :-) and especially what a surprise and successful conclusion for the New York trip. Virtually a soft landing before it goes afterwards with SAS in Economy back home.

The service

We start the morning rush hour in the direction of Oslo. Just under two hours now lie before us time to look at a film. When we reached cruising altitude, I go to the seat first time in a more comfortable position. The flight attendants distribute hot refreshing towels. Immediately following the service, which does not differ from the food and beverage offer by way follows. I take this time the continental breakfast without the bubbly.

British Airways Club Europe Breakfast

British Airways Club Europe Breakfast

Subsequent to any breakfast I have to take the time and check the seat on his sofa property. :-) In Fußschacht and the shoulder area is a bit cramped. But all complain at a high level.

The seat

Eight rows in a 1-2 or 2-1 seating can be found in this particular type of Club Europe. Actually, these Airbuses are primarily used on very long European routes to Istanbul but also to Tel Aviv, Amman and Cairo. The seats come from Thompson Aero and can be converted into a flat bed. Depending on what position one takes, this seat offers a lot of space.

The seat cover is color matched in dark brown material and to the controls. Three options for seat adjustment, take off / country, lounge and bed are inevitable. The footrest can be adjusted individually. Additionally, there is a very good massage function. The inflight entertainment runs over a 15.4″ large touch screen. Outlet and USB port are also available.

As soon as we started in London, we also begin again with the landing on the airport Oslo Gardermoen. The weather is miserable, but that does not bother us. We remain in the terminal to pick up our bags and check the on again for our flight with SAS to Munich.

British Airways Airbus A321 G-medf

British Airways Airbus A321 G-medf

Our assessment of the British Airways Business Class Airbus A321

  • Seat
  • service
  • cleanliness
  • Food / drinks
  • inflight entertainment
  • Price-performance
4.1

abstract

Die internationale Business Class im Airbus A321 von British Airways kann sich wirklich sehen lassen. Sie bietet den Reisenden auf langen Europaflügen wirklich ein ungeahntes, hohes Maß an Komfort – especially in comparison to Lufthansa, which can sit 4-5 hours time your frequent contributor to business on the NEK you!

Robert

Hi, I'm Robert and infected by the virus flyer since my first flight in 1993, in a Tupolev Tu-154. Chances of recovery is zero. Since I am now even more intense am grappling with discount programs and topbonus Platinum and Star Alliance Gold am, all things have become much worse. :-) counts Fortunately for me, I have a very understanding family who love to share my passion with me and benefited from it. In the summer of 2015 we moved from Berlin to the near Munich and now have a great and above all functioning airport right outside the front door. So there are still many exciting trips and pictures give, nice that her since!

3 Responses

  1. Max says:

    I find the business class of Lufthansa best, but also quite expensive. Possibly I should Brisith Airways also look at me once ;-)

    • Robert says:

      Hi Max, on European routes I think there is hardly any difference between British and Lufthansa. However, the configuration of the Airbus A321 BA is really special and a unique selling point. In October I fly with Lufthansa from Toronto to Munich and then I also comparing :-)

  2. Detlef Chandler Schluz says:

    Dear community,
    I personally fly only LH (am, of course, HON), no matter what the price. should there I find the quality also come at a price, I am convinced that the ticket prices are now set much too low. The first class of LH is of course a real treat, both, culinary and stewardesses default. In my trans-Atlantic flight to JFK some real eye candy were already there.
    For further inquiries and; or tips & Tricks for quickly reaching the HON circle members, I am happy to disposal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I confirm

British Airways long haul Business Class Airbus A321

Bei unserem online Check-in für den Rückflug mit British Airways nach Oslo war ich kurz von der Sitzanordnung verwirrt. Zwei Sitze, ein einzelner Sitz und dann wieder zwei Sitze. Das sieht doch nach einer Business Class á la Swiss aus?!  Eine „richtige“ Business Class auf einem Europaflug? Wir lassen uns einfach überraschen…

BA Galleries First Lounge am frühen Morgen

BA Galleries First Lounge am frühen Morgen

Zwischen unserer Ankunft und dem Weiterflug nach Oslo blieb noch Zeit der BA Galleries First Lounge einen Besuch abzustatten. Als der Aufruf zum Boarding erfolgt, machen wir uns auf Weg in den „Keller“. Wir werden unseren Flieger also per Bus betreten.

Boarding

Wir betreten den Airbus über die Gangway und tatsächlich, die Darstellung beim Check-in war richtig. Ich nehme auf dem sog. „Thron“ platz. Was für ein Gefühl :-) und vor allem was für eine Überraschung und gelungener Abschluss für den New York-Trip. Quasi ein Softlanding, bevor es nachher mit SAS in Economy wieder nach Hause geht.

Der Service

Wir starten zur morgendlicher Rush-hour in Richtung Oslo. Knapp zwei Stunden liegen nun vor uns, Zeit um auch ein Film zu schauen. Als wir die Reiseflughöhe erreichen, begebe ich mich mit dem Sitz erst mal in eine bequemere Position. Die Flugbegleiter verteilen heiße Erfrischungstücher. Gleich im Anschluss folgt der Service, der sich vom Essen- und Getränkeangebot nicht vom Hinflug unterscheidet. Ich nehme diesmal das Continental Breakfast ohne das Blubberwasser.

British Airways Club Europe Breakfast

British Airways Club Europe Breakfast

Nach erfolgten Frühstück muss ich die Zeit nutzen und den Sitz auf seine Schlafeigenschaft prüfen. :-) Im Fußschacht und am Schulterbereich wird es etwas eng. Aber alles meckern auf hohem Niveau.

Der Sitz

Acht Reihen in einer 1-2 bzw. 2-1 Bestuhlung finden sich in dieser besonderen Art der Club Europe. Eigentlich werden diese Airbusse vorrangig auf sehr langen Europa Strecken nach Istanbul aber auch nach Tel Aviv, Amman und Kairo eingesetzt. Die Sitze kommen von Thompson Aero und lassen sich in ein flaches Bett verwandeln. Je nachdem welchen Platz man einnimmt, bietet dieser Sitz eine Menge Platz.

Der Sitzbezug ist in dunkelbraunen Stoff und die Bedienelemente farblich dazu abgestimmt. Drei Möglichkeiten zur Sitzeinstellung, take off/ land, lounge und bed, sind vorprogrammiert. Die Fußstütze lässt sich individuell verstellen. Zusätzlich gibt es noch eine sehr gute Massagefunktion. Das Inflight Entertainment läuft über einen 15,4″ großen Touchscreen. Steckdose und USB Anschluss sind ebenfalls vorhanden.

So schnell, wie wir in London gestartet sind, beginnen wir auch schon wieder mit der Landung auf den Flughafen Oslo Gardermoen. Das Wetter ist miserabel, aber das stört uns nicht. Wir bleiben im Terminal, holen unsere Koffer und checken die wieder für unseren Rückflug mit SAS nach München ein.

British Airways Airbus A321 G-MEDF

British Airways Airbus A321 G-MEDF

Unsere Bewertung der British Airways Business Class Airbus A321

Robert

Hi, ich bin Robert und seit meinem ersten Flug 1993, in einer Tupolev Tu-154, vom Fliegervirus infiziert. Chancen auf Heilung gleich null. Seit ich mich nun noch intensiver mit Meilenprogrammen auseinandersetze und Topbonus Platin sowie Star Alliance Gold bin, ist alles noch viel schlimmer geworden. :-) Zu meinem Glück zählt, das ich eine sehr verständnisvolle Familie habe, die meine Leidenschaft gerne mit mir teilt und davon profitiert. Im Sommer 2015 sind wir von Berlin in die Nähe von München gezogen und haben nun auch einen großartigen und vor allem funktionierenden Flughafen direkt vor der Haustür. Es werden also noch viele spannende Reisen und Bilder geben, schön das ihr dabei seit!

3 Antworten

  1. Max sagt:

    Ich finde die Business Class von der Lufthansa am besten, aber auch recht teuer. Evtl sollte ich mir Brisith Airways auch mal angucken ;-)

    • Robert sagt:

      Hi Max, auf Europastrecken gibt es glaube ich kaum ein Unterschied zwischen British und Lufthansa. Die Konfiguration im Airbus A321 von BA ist allerdings wirklich besonders und ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal. Im Oktober fliege ich mit Lufthansa von Toronto nach München und dann habe ich auch den Vergleich :-)

  2. Detlef Krämer-Schluz sagt:

    Liebe community,
    Ich persönlich flieg nur LH (bin selbstverständlich auch HON), egal bei welchem Preis. Da ich finde das Qualität auch seinen Preis haben sollte bin ich überzeugt das die Ticketpreise heutzutage viel zu niedrig angesetzt sind. Die First Class von LH ist natürlich ein echter Leckerbissen, sowohl, kulinarisch als auch Stewardessenmäßig. Bei meinem Transatlantikflug nach JFK waren schon ein paar echte Augenweiden dabei.
    Bei weiteren Nachfragen und; oder Tipps & Tricks zum schnellen Erreichen des HON circle members stehe ich gerne zu verfügung.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.