SAS Plus on the Airbus A330-300 to Los Angeles

Sitz in der SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330

Every year I try to escape the hustle and bustle of mulled wine at the German Christmas markets, but also the gloomy December weather. This time there was a cheap offer with SAS Plus to Los Angeles. On the one hand I was able to soak up some sun, on the other hand my Star Alliance Gold status was almost extended thanks to the good yield of frequent flyer miles. So on St. Nicholas Day 2019 I flew to Los Angeles in SAS Plus in the Airbus A330-300. In the following trip report you will find out what service and equipment you can expect in SAS Premium Economy on long-haul routes.

Flughafen Stockholm (Terminal 5)
Stockholm Airport (Terminal 5)

After a short night at the airport hotel, I took the shuttle bus to Terminal 5 at Stockholm Airport early in the morning. Unfortunately, not all of the check-in counters were manned, so it took a little longer to check in my luggage. Thanks to Fast Track at the security check, I was able to make up for the longer waiting time.

Board SK939 to Los Angeles

After a hearty breakfast in the SAS Gold Lounge (Link zur Lounge Review) I went through passport control and then to departure gate F58. The number of passengers in the waiting area already suggested that the Airbus A330-300 was not really fully booked. Thanks Rob from robisintheair.de I had the information that my seat next to me was blocked in SAS Plus and therefore there was a good chance that it would remain free.

SAS Gold Lounge Stockholm
SAS Gold Lounge Stockholm

Boarding started on time, and first the passengers of SAS Business, SAS Plus or SAS Premium Economy and status customers were asked to board. Since I still had to download a few series to my laptop, I didn't use priority boarding and was almost one of the last passengers to board.

Boarding SAS Airbus A330-300 in Stockholm
Boarding SAS Airbus A330-300 in Stockholm

SAS Premium Economy in the Airbus A330 – cabin and seat

The SAS Plus cabin in the Airbus A330-300 is separated from Business Class directly after the second door. In total, SAS installed 56 Premium Economy seats in eight rows in a 2-3-2 configuration.

Sitzplan SAS Airbus A330-300 (Quelle: seatguru.com)
Seat map SAS Airbus A330-300 (Source: seatguru.com)

Apparently there was a seat change at short notice, and so the seat next to me was still occupied. However, since the Premium Economy cabin was only 50% full, I took the opportunity and simply sat down two rows forward in 25H.

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330
SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330
Blick aus der SAS Plus in die Economy Class
View from SAS Plus into Economy Class

The seats in SAS Plus are covered with a gray fabric and comfortably padded. In the first Premium Economy row (row 20) there is an adjustable leg rest and in the following only a footrest. The distance between the seats is very large at 96 cm and the seat is also sufficiently wide. The table was hidden in the armrest and was a bit small. Nevertheless, I was able to work on my laptop without any problems. So that you don't run out of electricity, there was a universal socket for each seat and a USB port on the monitor.

Sitz in der SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330
Seated in SAS Premium Economy on the Airbus A330
Sitzabstand in SAS Plus
Sitzabstand in SAS Plus
Kabine der SAS Plus in der Airbus A330
Cabin of the SAS Plus in the Airbus A330
Ausreichend Platz zum Arbeiten
Sufficient space to work

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330 – Service

Service began about 45 minutes after takeoff with a round of drinks. Here I was free to choose from the drinks menu in the SAS Plus and ordered a sparkling wine to properly celebrate the start of my short holiday. I was also asked what I wanted to drink with the meal. I ordered a red wine and got two bottles of Italian Syrah. Well then cheers!

Getränke in SAS Plus zum Beginn des Fluges
Beverages in SAS Plus at the start of the flight

For lunch I had a choice of fish and chicken. I chose the chicken which was served with barley and vegetables. There was also a potato salad and a juicy carrot cake.

Warme Speise in der SAS Premium Economy
Hot meal in SAS Premium Economy

A light snack was served about five hours before landing. In addition to fresh fruit, there was a kind of wrap with cheese and ice cream. The Swedish lingonberry ice cream was really fruity and very tasty!

Schwedisches Preiselbeereis als Snack
Swedish cranberry ice cream as a snack

Another snack was served as we flew over the snow-capped Rocky Mountains near Salt Lake City. There was a piece of smoked salmon with bulgur salad. I also ordered a non-alcoholic beer. The American-style wheat beer is specially brewed for SAS by the Mikkeller brewery and filled into these stylish cans.

Snack in SAS Plus: Räucherlachs mit Bulgursalat
Snack in SAS Plus: smoked salmon with bulgur salad

Each seat also had a pillow, a slightly better blanket, a 0.5 liter bottle of still water and an amenity kit. The amenity kit in SAS Plus consisted of a toothbrush, a sleep mask and earplugs.

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330 – Entertainment

The monitor in the front seat offered a good selection of films, series, music and games. 61 films were available, which could be filtered according to different categories. A targeted search, e.g. B. to German soundtrack, was not possible. A great addition was the display of the two external cameras installed in the aircraft. So I was able to follow the start in Stockholm from the perspective of the cockpit.

SAS In-flight Entertainment
SAS In-flight Entertainment
Onboard Kamera im SAS Airbus A330
Onboard Kamera im SAS Airbus A330

SAS also offers WiFi on long-haul flights to the US and Asia. This can be used free of charge by passengers in SAS Plus and SAS Business. Unfortunately, the Airbus A330-300 that I flew to Los Angeles was the only aircraft not yet equipped with satellite technology. Pity!

Approaching Los Angeles

After a flight of about 12 hours, we landed on time at Los Angeles International Airport. That ended a great experience in the SAS Plus.

Anflug auf Los Angeles
Approaching Los Angeles

More information about SAS Scandinavian Airlines

Website:https://www.flysas.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SAS/
Online booking:Skyscanner*

Did you enjoy the post? Then share it on social networks. With this you support our work. Have you already flown in the SAS Plus in the Airbus A330-300? Then I look forward to your opinion in the comments.

Evaluation of the SAS Plus in the Airbus A330-300
  • Service
  • Seat
  • Entertainment
  • Cleanliness
  • Beverages
  • Essen
  • Price-performance
4.1

Summary

The SAS Plus is definitely worth the surcharge compared to Economy Class. The service is friendly, the range of food and drinks is extensive and the seat is comfortably padded. The price-performance ratio is right in my opinion!

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2021, I live with my wife Christin and our son in Merseburg and work in Leipzig as a product manager. What I love about travelling is flying, discovering delicious food and drink, and staying in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always on the lookout for the next adventure. I have been posting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

SAS Plus in der Airbus A330-300 nach Los Angeles

Jedes Jahr versuche ich, dem Glühweintrubel auf den deutschen Weihnachtsmärkten, aber auch dem trüben Dezemberwetter zu entfliehen. Diesmal gab es ein günstiges Angebot mit SAS Plus nach Los Angeles. Einerseits konnte ich noch etwas Sonne tanken, andererseits wurde dank der guten Ausbeute an Vielfliegermeilen mein Star Alliance Gold-Status fast verlängert. So flog ich am Nikolaustag 2019 in SAS Plus in der Airbus A330-300 nach Los Angeles. Im folgenden Tripreport erfährst du, welchen Service und welche Ausstattung du in der Premium Economy von SAS auf Langstrecke erwarten kannst.

Flughafen Stockholm (Terminal 5)

Flughafen Stockholm (Terminal 5)

Nach einer kurzen Nacht im Flughafenhotel nahm ich am frühen Morgen den Shuttlebus zum Terminal 5 des Stockholmer Flughafens. Da die Check-in-Schalter leider nicht alle besetzt waren, dauerte es etwas länger, mein Gepäck aufzugeben. Die längere Wartezeit konnte ich dank Fast Track an der Sicherheitskontrolle aber wieder gut machen.

Boarding SK939 nach Los Angeles

Nach einem reichhaltigen Frühstück in der SAS Gold Lounge (Link zur Lounge Review) ging ich durch die Passkontrolle und dann zum Abfluggate F58. Die Anzahl der Passagiere im Wartebereich ließ bereits vermuten, dass der Airbus A330-300 nicht wirklich ausgebucht war. Dank Rob von robisintheair.de hatte ich die Information, dass mein Nachbarsitz in SAS Plus geblockt war und daher eine gute Chance bestand, dass er frei blieb.

SAS Gold Lounge Stockholm

SAS Gold Lounge Stockholm

Das Boarding begann pünktlich, und zunächst wurden die Passagiere von SAS Business, SAS Plus bzw. SAS Premium Economy und Statuskunden zum Einsteigen aufgefordert. Da ich noch einige Serien auf meinen Laptop herunterladen musste, habe ich das Priority Boarding nicht genutzt und bin fast als einer der letzten Passagiere an Bord gegangen.

Boarding SAS Airbus A330-300 in Stockholm

Boarding SAS Airbus A330-300 in Stockholm

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330 – Kabine und Sitz

Die Kabine der SAS Plus im Airbus A330-300 liegt abgetrennt von der Business Class direkt nach der zweiten Tür. Insgesamt hat SAS 56 Premium-Economy-Sitze in acht Reihen in einer 2-3-2-Konfiguration verbaut.

Sitzplan SAS Airbus A330-300 (Quelle: seatguru.com)

Sitzplan SAS Airbus A330-300 (Quelle: seatguru.com)

Offenbar gab es kurzfristig eine Sitzplatzänderung, und so war mein Nachbarplatz doch noch besetzt. Da die Premium Economy-Kabine allerdings nur zu 50% gefüllt war, nutzte ich die Gelegenheit und setzte mich einfach zwei Reihen weiter vorne auf Platz 25H.

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330

Blick aus der SAS Plus in die Economy Class

Blick aus der SAS Plus in die Economy Class

Die Sitze in SAS Plus sind mit einem grauen Stoff bezogen und angenehm gepolstert. In der ersten Premium Economy Reihe (Reihe 20) gibt es eine verstellbare Beinauflage und in den folgenden lediglich eine Fußstütze. Der Sitzabstand ist mit 96 cm sehr groß und auch die Sitzfläche ist ausreichend breit. Der Tisch war in der Armlehne versteckt und fiel etwas klein aus. Nichtsdestotrotz konnte ich ohne Probleme an meinem Laptop arbeiten. Damit einem dabei nicht der Strom ausgeht, gab es für jeden Sitzplatz eine Universalsteckdose und einen USB-Steckplatz am Monitor.

Sitz in der SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330

Sitz in der SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330

Sitzabstand in SAS Plus

Sitzabstand in SAS Plus

Kabine der SAS Plus in der Airbus A330

Kabine der SAS Plus in der Airbus A330

Ausreichend Platz zum Arbeiten

Ausreichend Platz zum Arbeiten

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330 – Service

Der Service begann etwa 45 Minuten nach dem Start mit einer Runde Getränke. Hier hatte ich in der SAS Plus die freie Wahl aus der Getränkekarte und bestellte mir, um den Start in den Kurzurlaub gebührend zu feiern, erst einmal einen Sekt. Zusätzlich wurde ich auch nach dem Getränkewunsch zum Essen gefragt. Dafür bestellte ich einen Rotwein und bekam zwei Flaschen italienischen Syrah. Na dann Prost!

Getränke in SAS Plus zum Beginn des Fluges

Getränke in SAS Plus zum Beginn des Fluges

Zum Mittagessen hatte ich die Wahl zwischen Fisch und Huhn. Ich wählte das Hühnchen, das mit Gerste und Gemüse serviert wurde. Dazu gab es einen Kartoffelsalat und einen saftigen Karottenkuchen.

Warme Speise in der SAS Premium Economy

Warme Speise in der SAS Premium Economy

Etwa fünf Stunden vor der Landung wurde ein kleiner Imbiss serviert. Neben frischem Obst gab es eine Art Wrap mit Käse und ein Eis. Das schwedische Preiselbeereis war wirklich fruchtig und sehr lecker!

Schwedisches Preiselbeereis als Snack

Schwedisches Preiselbeereis als Snack

Als wir über die schneebedeckten Rocky Mountains auf der Höhe von Salt Lake City flogen, wurde ein weiterer Snack serviert. Es gab ein Stück Räucherlachs mit Bulgursalat. Dazu bestellte ich ein alkoholfreies Bier. Das Weizenbier nach amerikanischer Art wird von der Brauerei Mikkeller speziell für SAS gebraut und in diese stilvollen Dosen abgefüllt.

Snack in SAS Plus: Räucherlachs mit Bulgursalat

Snack in SAS Plus: Räucherlachs mit Bulgursalat

Auf jedem Sitzplatz gab es außerdem ein Kissen, eine etwas bessere Decke, eine 0,5-Liter-Flasche stilles Wasser und ein Amenity Kit. Das Amenity Kit in SAS Plus bestand aus einer Zahnbürste, einer Schlafmaske und Ohrstöpseln.

SAS Premium Economy in der Airbus A330 – Entertainment

Der Monitor im Vordersitz bot eine gute Auswahl an Filmen, Serien, Musik und Spielen. Es standen 61 Filme zur Verfügung, die nach verschiedenen Kategorien gefiltert werden konnten. Eine gezielte Suche, z. B. nach deutscher Tonspur, war nicht möglich. Eine tolle Ergänzung war die Anzeige der beiden im Flugzeug installierten Außenkameras. So konnte ich den Start in Stockholm aus der Perspektive des Cockpits verfolgen.

SAS In-flight Entertainment

SAS In-flight Entertainment

Onboard Kamera im SAS Airbus A330

Onboard Kamera im SAS Airbus A330

SAS bietet auf Langstreckenflügen in die USA und nach Asien ebenfalls WLAN an. Dieses kann von Passagieren in SAS Plus und SAS Business kostenlos genutzt werden. Leider war die Airbus A330-300, mit der ich nach Los Angeles geflogen bin, das einzige Flugzeug, das noch nicht mit Satellitentechnik ausgestattet war. Schade!

Anflug auf Los Angeles

Nach etwa 12 Stunden Flug landeten wir pünktlich auf dem internationalen Flughafen von Los Angeles. Damit endete ein großartiges Erlebnis in der SAS Plus.

Anflug auf Los Angeles

Anflug auf Los Angeles

Mehr Informationen zu SAS Scandinavian Airlines

Webseite:https://www.flysas.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SAS/
Online Buchung:Skyscanner*

Hat dir der Beitrag gefallen? Dann teile ihn doch in den sozialen Netzwerken. Damit unterstützt du unsere Arbeit. Bist du schon in der SAS Plus in der Airbus A330-300 geflogen? Dann freue ich mich über deine Meinung in den Kommentaren.

Bewertung der SAS Plus in der Airbus A330-300
  • Service
  • Sitz
  • Entertainment
  • Sauberkeit
  • Getränke
  • Essen
  • Preis/Leistung
4.1

Kurzfassung

Die SAS Plus ist auf jeden Fall den Aufpreis zur Economy Class wert. Der Service ist freundlich, das Angebot an Speisen und Getränken ist umfangreich und der Sitz ist bequem gepolstert. Das Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis stimmt meiner Meinung nach!

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.