LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 to Chicago

For this year's annual vacation we decided to visit the Midwest of the USA. In line with our travel plans, LOT Polish Airlines published an offer for the Premium Economy to Chicago. In the review you can find out what a secret tip the LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 is on long-haul flights.

We spent the waiting time between our arrival at Warsaw Airport and our onward flight to Chicago in the LOT Elite Club Lounge (Review). About 45 minutes before boarding we left the lounge so that our son could really let off some steam on a great playground before the nine hours flight.

Children's playground at the airport Warsaw

Children's Playground at Warsaw Airport

LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 – Boarding LO3

We arrived at Gate 23N on time for the beginning of the boarding at 4 pm. Our plane, an almost brand new Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (registration SP-LSA), was fortunately already ready at the gate. However, the boarding was delayed by about 30 minutes. Meanwhile the departure area filled up and there was a complete mess as some guests were still asked for a special security check ("SSSS" - Secondary Security Screening Selection). In the end, however, it was ensured that the boarding was carried out according to booking class or frequent flyer status. As guests of the Premium Economy we were allowed to be the first on board.

Departure gate to Chicago

Departure gate to Chicago

Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (registration SP-LSA)

Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (registration SP-LSA)

LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 – Cabin

For me it was the first flight in a Boeing 787-9. Already when entering the cabin I was surprised by the pleasant space feeling. At first glance, however, the Premium Economy did not look really contemporary, but looked more like a business class of the 90s. The 21 wide and very thick padded seats were arranged in a 2-3-2 configuration in three rows. At 106 centimetres, the distance between the seats was almost seven centimetres larger than in the LOT Boeing 787-8.

LOT Premium Economy cabin

LOT Premium Economy cabin

In contrast to the "old-fashioned" seating, the colour-changing LED ceiling lighting provided a pleasant feeling of space. In addition, the cabin air did not seem as dry as in other airplanes.

LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 – Seat

In the first moment the seat in the LOT Premium Economy reminded me strongly of the Comfort Class of Turkish Airlines and was covered with a blue-grey patterned fabric. This made the seat look a bit old-fashioned in my eyes. But thanks to the good upholstery, the wide seat (approx. 50 cm), adjustable footrest and backrest the sitting was very comfortable. Both the table and the monitor for the in-flight entertainment were stored in the 15 cm wide armrests. In addition, two universal sockets were installed between the seats. The position for the remote control was unfavourable. During the flight we kneeled several times and switched on the reading light, for example. Furthermore, the seat with a 25 centimeter wide pocket on the back of the front seat offered very little storage space.

6A & 6B seat in premium economy of LOT

6A & 6B seat in premium economy of LOT

As we were travelling together with our two-year-old son, we had already decided to book the middle three seats in the sixth row. On each of our seats there was a package wrapped in foil, which consisted of a blue blanket and a bulky pillow.

LOT Premium Economy seat

LOT Premium Economy seat

LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 – Service

When the boarding was completed, the welcome drinks were served. We had the well-known choice of orange juice, water or sparkling wine. I found it very good that the drinks were served in glasses instead of plastic cups. The drink was accompanied by a packet of salted peanuts. Shortly after the start I exchanged the glass of sparkling wine for a delicious Polish beer.

Welcome on board!

Welcome on board!

Together with the menu, a small amenity kit was also distributed. The blue bag contained everything you need for a long distance flight: Socks, sleeping glasses, toothbrush and earplugs. The contents were of inferior quality, but perfectly sufficient for a premium economy.

Menu

Menu

Amenity kit in the LOT Premium Economy

Amenity kit in the LOT Premium Economy

About one hour after the start in Warsaw - we just crossed the Baltic Sea towards Norway - the flight attendants started the service. As in the lounge, DO&CO was responsible for catering on board. In addition to salad, the starter included prawns served with cucumber salad, chili mayonnaise and pea sprouts. For the main course we had the choice between beef cheeks in pepper sauce served with potato dumplings and vegetables or chicken in BBQ sauce served with fried potatoes and grilled asparagus. We both decided on the beef cheeks. For dessert we had a piece of cake.

Beef cheeks in pepper sauce served with potato dumplings and vegetables

Beef cheeks in pepper sauce served with potato dumplings and vegetables

The whole menu tasted very good and was definitely full. By the way, our son got an extra children's menu, which we had also reserved online. He was served rice with meatballs in tomato sauce. We also had freshly cut cucumber, paprika and tomatoes. Our son found the most interesting fruit plate, which he threw himself at first.

children's menu

children's menu

During the flight we were well taken care of by the flight attendants. At regular intervals they came through the cabin and asked for drinks or offered snacks. Before we landed in Chicago, we were served something to eat. Here we had the choice between three dishes: Duck breast, chicken or spinach lasagna. I chose the duck breast this time.

Snack before arriving in Chicago

Snack before arriving in Chicago

LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 – Entertainment

The entertainment monitor was tucked away in the armrest. The range of films and series was very clear and there were a total of eight languages available. The number of German-language films was just acceptable. Live TV was not available, but some series, games and playlists were available for music playback. The monitor also had a USB socket for charging its personal mobile devices. It was disappointing that LOT did not have an in-flight WiFi. In my opinion, there is a lot of catching up to do here.

Entertainment

Entertainment

Moving-Map

Moving-Map

Arrival in Chicago

After we left Warsaw late, we arrived at Chicago O'Hare airport almost on time. The entry into the USA lasted an eternity again. But even the longest 45 minutes were made and we could take the airport train from terminal 5 to terminal 2 after receiving our luggage. For the first night I had reserved a room at the Hilton Chicago O'Hare directly at the airport. Thanks to Hilton Diamond Status we got two bottles of water and an upgrade to a room with a view of the airport. In spite of my tiredness I sat at the window for a while and took some long-term pictures of the hustle and bustle on the apron.

Chicago O'Hare International Airport at night

Chicago O'Hare International Airport at night

More information on LOT Polish Airlines

Web page:https://www.lot.com*
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LOT/
Online booking:LOT* or Skyscanner*

Did you enjoy the post? Then share it but in the social networks. So you supported our work. Have you ever been in the LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9 on the road? I am pleased with your opinion in the comments.

Rating of the LOT Premium Economy in the Boeing 787-9
  • Seat
  • Service
  • Entertainment
  • Cleanliness
  • Drinks
  • Food
  • Price/Performance
4.1

Abstract

The LOT Premium Economy is an absolute insider tip in terms of price/performance. The selection of food and drinks by the caterer DO&CO was very good. Only the service could have been more friendly and courteous. Even though the overall impression of the design is quite old-fashioned, the wide and well-padded seats were very comfortable and the adjustable footrest and backrest made sitting very comfortable even on long journeys.

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2012 I live with my wife Christin in Halle (Saale). When travelling I love flying, discovering good food and drink and spending the night in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always looking for the next adventure. I have been reporting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 nach Chicago

Für den diesjährigen Jahresurlaub entschlossen wir uns den Mittleren Westen der USA anzuschauen. Passend zu unseren Reiseplänen veröffentlichte LOT Polish Airlines ein Angebot für die Premium Economy nach Chicago. Inwieweit die LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 ein Geheimtipp auf der Langstrecke ist, erfahrt ihr im Review.

Die Wartezeit zwischen unserer Ankunft am Flughafen Warschau und unserem Weiterflug nach Chicago verbrachten wir in der LOT Elite Club Lounge (Review). Ungefähr 45 Minuten vor Boarding verließen wir die Lounge, damit sich unser Sohn vor den neun Stunden Flug noch einmal auf einem tollen Spielplatz richtig austoben konnte.

Kinderspielplatz auf dem Flughafen Warschau

Kinderspielplatz am Flughafen Warschau

LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 – Boarding LO3

Überpünktlich zum Beginn des Boardings um 16 Uhr fanden wir uns am Gate 23N ein. Unsere Maschine, eine fast nagelneue Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (Registrierung SP-LSA), stand glücklicherweise auch schon am Gate bereit. Allerdings verzögerte sich das Einsteigen um etwa 30 Minuten. Währenddessen füllte sich der Abflugbereich und es herrschte ein heilloses Durcheinander da einige Gäste noch zur gesonderten Sicherheitskontrolle („SSSS“ – Secondary Security Screening Selection) gebeten wurden. Schlussendlich wurde aber darauf geachtet, dass das Boarding nach Buchungsklasse bzw. Vielfliegerstatus durchgeführt wurde. Wir durften als Gäste der Premium Economy mit als Erstes an Bord.

Abfluggate nach Chicago

Abfluggate nach Chicago

Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (Registrierung SP-LSA)

Boeing 787-9 Dreamliner (Registrierung SP-LSA)

LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 – Kabine

Für mich war es die erste Flugreise in einer Boeing 787-9. Schon beim Betreten der Kabine war ich von dem angenehmen Raumgefühl überrascht. Allerdings sah die Premium Economy auf den ersten Blick nicht wirklich zeitgemäß aus, sondern wirkte eher wie eine Business Class der 90er Jahre. Die 21 breiten und sehr dick gepolsterten Sitze waren in einer 2-3-2-Konfiguration in drei Reihen angeordnet. Der Abstand zwischen den Sitzen war mit 106 Zentimetern knapp sieben Zentimeter größer als in der LOT Boeing 787-8.

LOT Premium Economy Kabine

LOT Premium Economy Kabine

Im Gegenteil zu der „altertümlichen“ Bestuhlung, sorgte die farblich wechselnde LED-Deckenbeleuchtung für ein angenehmes Raumgefühl. Außerdem kam mir die Kabinenluft nicht so trocken wie in anderen Flugzeugen vor.

LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 – Sitz

Im ersten Moment erinnerte mich der Sitz in der LOT Premium Economy stark an die Comfort Class von Turkish Airlines und war mit einem blau-grau-gemusterten Stoff bezogen. Dieser ließ den Sitz in meinen Augen etwas altbacken wirken. Aber dank der guten Polsterung, der breiten Sitzfläche (ca. 50 cm), verstellbarer Fußstütze und Rückenlehne war das Sitzen sehr angenehm. Sowohl der Tisch als auch der Monitor für das Inflight Entertainment waren in den 15 Zentimeter breiten Armlehnen verstaut. Außerdem waren zwischen den Sitzen jeweils zwei Universalsteckdosen verbaut. Ungünstig war die Position für die Fernbedienung. So kamen wir mehrmals während des Fluges mit dem Knie an diese und schalteten zum Beispiel das Leselicht an. Ferner bot der Sitz mit einer 25 Zentimeter breiten Tasche an der Rücklehne des Vordersitzes nur sehr wenig Stauraum an.

Sitz 6A & 6B in der Premium Economy von LOT

Sitz 6A & 6B in der Premium Economy von LOT

Da wir gemeinsam mit unserem zweijährigen Sohn unterwegs waren, hatten wir uns bei der Buchung schon für die mittleren drei Sitze in der sechsten Reihe entschieden. Auf unseren Plätzen lag jeweils ein in Folie gepacktes Paket, welches aus einer blauen Decke und einem bauschigen Kissen bestand.

LOT Premium Economy Sitz

LOT Premium Economy Sitz

LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 – Service

Als das Boarding abgeschlossen war, wurden die Begrüßungsgetränke serviert. Wir hatten die bekannte Wahl aus Orangensaft, Wasser oder Sekt. Sehr gut fand ich, dass die Getränke in Gläsern anstatt Plastikbechern gereicht wurden. Zu dem Getränk gab es noch ein Päckchen mit gesalzenen Erdnüssen. Kurz nach dem Start tauschte ich allerdings das Glas Sekt gegen ein leckeres polnisches Bier ein.

Willkommen an Bord!

Willkommen an Bord!

Zusammen mit der Speisekarte wurde außerdem ein kleines Amenity Kit ausgeteilt. Das blaue Täschchen enthielt alles, was man auf einem Langstreckenflug benötigt: Socken, Schlafbrille, Zahnbürste und Ohrstöpsel. Der Inhalt war zwar von minderer Qualität, aber für eine Premium Economy vollkommen ausreichend.

Speisekarte

Speisekarte

Amenity Kit in der LOT Premium Economy

Amenity Kit in der LOT Premium Economy

Ungefähr eine Stunde nach dem Start in Warschau – wir überquerten gerade die Ostsee in Richtung Norwegen – begannen die Flugbegleiter mit dem Service. Wie schon in der Lounge war auch an Bord der Caterer DO&CO für die Verpflegung verantwortlich. Als Vorspeise gab es zusätzlich zum Salat, Garnelen serviert mit Gurkensalat, Chili-Mayonnaise und Erbsensprossen. Beim Hauptgang hatten wir die Wahl zwischen Rinderbäckchen in Pfeffersauce serviert mit Kartoffelknödeln und Gemüse oder Hähnchen in BBQ-Sauce, serviert mit Bratkartoffeln und gegrilltem Spargel. Wir entschieden uns beide für die Rinderbäckchen. Als Dessert gab es noch ein Stück Torte.

Rindfleischbäckchen in Pfeffersauce serviert mit Kartoffelknödeln und Gemüse

Rindfleischbäckchen in Pfeffersauce serviert mit Kartoffelknödeln und Gemüse

Das gesamte Menü schmeckte sehr gut und machte definitiv auch satt. Unser Sohn bekam übrigens ein extra Kindermenü, welches wir allerdings auch online reserviert hatten. Ihm wurde Reis mit Fleischbällchen in Tomatensoße serviert. Dazu gab es frisch geschnittene Gurke, Paprika und Tomaten. Am interessantesten fand unser Sohn aber den Obstteller, auf den er sich zuerst stürzte.

Kindermenü

Kindermenü

Während des Fluges wurden wir gut von den Flugbegleitern versorgt. In regelmäßigen Abständen kamen Sie durch die Kabine und fragten nach Getränkewünschen oder boten Snacks an. Vor der Landung in Chicago wurde noch einmal etwas zu essen serviert. Hier hatten wir die Auswahl zwischen drei Gerichten: Entenbrust, Hühnchen oder Spinatlasagne. Ich entschied mich diesmal für die Entenbrust.

Snack vor der Ankunft in Chicago

Snack vor der Ankunft in Chicago

LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 – Entertainment

Der Monitor für das Entertainment war in der Armlehne verstaut. Das Angebot an Filmen und Serien war sehr übersichtlich und es standen insgesamt acht Sprachen zur Verfügung. Die Anzahl an deutschsprachigen Filme war gerade so akzeptabel. Live-TV stand nicht zur Verfügung, allerdings einige Serien, Spiele und Playlists zur Musik-Wiedergabe. Der Monitor verfügte außerdem über eine USB-Buchse zum Laden seiner persönlichen mobilen Endgeräte. Enttäuschend war, dass LOT nicht über ein Inflight-WiFi verfügt. Hier besteht meines Erachtens dringender Nachholbedarf.

Entertainment

Entertainment

Moving-Map

Moving-Map

Ankunft in Chicago

Nachdem wir mit Verspätung in Warschau los geflogen waren, kamen wir annähernd pünktlich am Flughafen Chicago O’Hare an. Die Einreise in die USA dauerte gefühlt wieder eine Ewigkeit. Aber auch die längsten 45 Minuten waren irgendwann geschafft und wir konnten, nachdem wir unser Gepäck entgegengenommen hatten, mit der Flughafenbahn von Terminal 5 zu Terminal 2 fahren. Für die erste Nacht hatte ich ein Zimmer im Hilton Chicago O’Hare direkt am Flughafen reserviert. Dank Hilton Diamond Status bekamen wir neben zwei Flaschen Wasser noch ein Upgrade in ein Zimmer mit Blick auf den Flughafen. Trotz Müdigkeit saß ich noch längere Zeit am Fenster und nahm einige Langzeitaufnahmen vom Treiben auf dem Vorfeld auf.

Chicago O’Hare International Airport bei Nacht

Chicago O’Hare International Airport bei Nacht

Mehr Informationen zu LOT Polish Airlines

Webseite:https://www.lot.com*
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/LOT/
Online Buchung:LOT*, Expedia* oder Skyscanner*

Hat dir der Beitrag gefallen? Dann teile ihn doch in den sozialen Netzwerken. Damit unterstützt du unsere Arbeit. Warst du schon in der LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9 unterwegs? Dann freue ich mich über deine Meinung in den Kommentaren.

Bewertung der LOT Premium Economy in der Boeing 787-9
  • Sitz
  • Service
  • Entertainment
  • Sauberkeit
  • Getränke
  • Essen
  • Preis/Leistung
4.1

Kurzfassung

Die LOT Premium Economy ist absolut ein Geheimtipp in Bezug auf Preis/Leistung. Die Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken durch den Caterer DO&CO war sehr gut. Lediglich der Service hätte etwas freundlicher und zuvorkommender sein können. Auch wenn der Gesamteindruck des Designs doch recht altbacken ist, die breiten und gut gepolsterten Sitze waren sehr bequem und durch die verstellbare Fußstütze und Rückenlehne war das Sitzen auch auf Langstrecke sehr angenehm.

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

* Die Checkbox für die Zustimmung zur Speicherung ist nach DSGVO zwingend.

Ich akzeptiere