Across the water on a ‘747 – calling America...

..so it sounds from a well-known song from ELO. In a good two hours of it so far – it goes to New York in the British Airways Club World on Board the Boeing 747.400. My sister and I have just entered the British Airways Galleries First Lounge, Topbonus platinum, thank....

BA Galleries First Lounge

BA Galleries First Lounge

British Airways Galleries First Lounge London Heathrow

The Lounge is huge! My way leads me First to the Breakfast buffet. The selection is really impressive. What to expect is Breakfast, especially a English. I decide, nevertheless, for fresh fruit, two sausages are allowed to. nevertheless, with on the plate :-) A small pivot about the Taittinger champagne Bar, now I'm ready for my third Breakfast. Good food, great view, great atmosphere, so it can travel.

The Lounge has a lot to offer, in addition to excellent Seating, a Whisky corner, a champagne Bar and a very good selection of food and drinks. If it would have allowed the time, then even a Massage at the Elemis Spa would have been there.

BA Galleries First Lounge

BA Galleries First Lounge

But our flight on the display panel changes to “go to Gate” and we will not allow ourselves to be told twice. We need to C in the Concourse and that takes some time. From Lounge to Gate, we will need almost 20 minutes.

British Airways Boeing 747-400 in Club World as BA113 from London to New York (JFK)

British Airways Club World on the Upper Deck of the Boeing 747-400

British Airways Club World on the Upper Deck of the Boeing 747-400

It is a great feeling, climbing stairs to the top and take in a very manageable space. Since we are the only passengers, I take the opportunity and ask for the opportunity to take a look in the Cockpit. This is answered in the affirmative, and I am happy. A short talk with the pilot, then I go back to my seat.

Cockpit-Boeing 747-400

Cockpit-Boeing 747-400

I'll take backward space to 64K. In the first Moment, an unusual Seating position, but the seat itself is comfortable and the view of the engine and wing is class. The Club World on the Boeing 747, has gotten a small Update. It is a new lighting and a new IFE was installed. Before the Start, water, orange juice and champagne are offered. I'll take a water.

British Airways Club World Seat

In Club World, the seats offer a high level of comfort on long trips. Through the stepless adjustment can be used to set its most convenient seat position easily and, of course, in a 180° flat bed. For solo travelers, the partition is very useful to have a bit more privacy. Just by the window in the upper deck, the storage possibilities are extremely good. A small drawback is that you do not need to climb, if necessary, on the feet of another passenger, if you are sitting on the aisle and this is sleeping. Unfortunately, the need to be folded, the screens take-off and landing again.

British Airways Club World Service

The cruise altitude is reached, and the Service begins. I start with a Tanqueray Gin and Tonic, because such events one has to trigger eventually. There are pre-packaged almonds.

Gin Tonic

Gin Tonic

British Airways Club World – Appetizer

A little later it goes off then also with the lunch. The food settled prior to departure, online ordering, good Service, so you can be sure, be food to get desire fulfilled. Be served three excellent courses, starts with grilled King Prawns on a marinated Avocado with tomato Salsa and salad. I think this is a good white wine, such as the 2012 Cuvaison Chardonnay from the Napa Valley.

starter

starter

British Airways Club World – Hauptspeise

As a main dish, four dishes were available and my choice hit the slow-braised Hertfordshire ox cheeks with vegetables and potatoes. The meat was very tender and relatively juicy. My sister opted for the Garganelli Pasta with pumpkin Caponata and roasted sage.

British Airways Club World – Dessert

Zum Dessert entscheide ich mich trotz mehrfacher Bewerbung durch die Stewardess gegen den Cheesecake. Eine Tasse Kaffee und Eiscreme sollte als Abschluss reichen.

Dessert

Dessert

As everything is cleared up, the seat is still in and I make my bed. To New York, there are, unfortunately, only 3.5 hours and I wanted to at least get the benefit of the bed. By the way, the Martian runs.

Sleeping position Club World

Sleeping position Club World

I can sleep for a good hour. After that, it will represent the time a little of the legs. We take a look at the Snack Bar and in the other Club World on the main deck.

British Airways Club World – Afternoon Tea

In the meantime, we have left the Saint-Lawrence river behind us. To New York is not too far away. As a Snack there is still an Afternoon Tea with sweet and savory delicacies.

Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea

Then the country begins the approach, as we fly over Long Island. A great flight is about to end. We dock at the Terminal 7 in JFK. The Terminal is branded on British Airways and will be used for the most part also of them. With us, a Boeing 757 from Opensky and the small A318 from London City to the Terminal stand still.

Approaching New York

Approaching New York

Unser Bewertung von BA Club World auf dem Weg von London (LHR) nach New York (JFK)

  • Seat
  • Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Food
  • Drinks
  • inflight entertainment
  • Price/Performance
4.4

abstract

Great seat, great Service, good food. What more could you want? The Club World seat is really good and you can spend a lot of time and, above all, lie comfortably and sleep. Due to the small visual refresh and a new IFE, you can safely choose British Airways for his travels.

Robert

Hi, I'm Robert and infected by the virus flyer since my first flight in 1993, in a Tupolev Tu-154. Chances of recovery is zero. Since I am now even more intense am grappling with discount programs and topbonus Platinum and Star Alliance Gold am, all things have become much worse. :-) counts Fortunately for me, I have a very understanding family who love to share my passion with me and benefited from it. In the summer of 2015 we moved from Berlin to the near Munich and now have a great and above all functioning airport right outside the front door. So there are still many exciting trips and pictures give, nice that her since!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Across the water on a ‘747 – calling America…

..so klingt es aus einem bekannten Lied von ELO. In gut zwei Stunden ist es so weit – es geht nach New York in der British Airways Club World an Bord der Boeing 747.400. Meine Schwester und ich betreten gerade die Britsh Airways Galleries First Lounge, Topbonus Platin sei dank. Wir suchen uns eine ruhige, bequeme Couch auf dem Balkon.

BA Galleries First Lounge

BA Galleries First Lounge

British Airways Galleries First Lounge London Heathrow

Die Lounge ist riesig! Mein Weg führt mich als Erstes zum Frühstücksbuffet. Die Auswahl kann sich wirklich sehen lassen. Was einem erwartet, ist vor allem ein English Breakfast. Ich entscheide mich dennoch für frisches Obst, zwei Würste dürfen trotzdem mit auf den Teller. :-) Einen kleinen Schwenk noch über die Taittinger Champagner Bar, jetzt bin ich bereit für mein drittes Frühstück. Gutes Essen, klasse Aussicht, tolles Ambiente, so lässt es sich reisen.

Die Lounge hat einiges zu bieten, neben hervorragenden Sitzgelegenheiten, einer Whisky Ecke, einer Champagner Bar und eine sehr gute Auswahl an Speisen und Getränken. Wenn es die Zeit zugelassen hätte, dann wäre sogar noch eine Massage im Elemis Spa drin gewesen.

BA Galleries First Lounge

BA Galleries First Lounge

Aber unser Flug auf der Anzeigetafel ändert sich auf “go to Gate” und das lassen wir uns nicht zweimal sagen. Wir müssen in den Concourse C und das nimmt etwas Zeit in Anspruch. Von Lounge zu Gate benötigen wir fast 20 Minuten.

British Airways Boeing 747-400 in Club World als BA113 von London nach New York (JFK)

British Airways Club World im Upper Deck der Boeing 747-400

British Airways Club World im Upper Deck der Boeing 747-400

Es ist ein tolles Gefühl, die Treppe nach oben zu steigen und in einem sehr überschaubaren Raum Platz zu nehmen. Da wir bisher die einzigen Passagiere sind, nutze ich die Gelegenheit und frage nach der Möglichkeit ein Blick in Cockpit zu werfen. Diese wird bejaht und ich bin happy. Kurzer Smalltalk mit den Piloten, dann gehe ich auch schon zurück zu meinem Sitz.

Cockpit Boeing 747-400

Cockpit Boeing 747-400

Ich nehme rückwärts Platz auf 64K. Im ersten Moment eine ungewohnte Sitzposition, aber der Sitz an sich ist bequem und die Sicht auf Triebwerk und Flügel ist klasse. Die Club World in der Boeing 747 hat ein kleines Update bekommen. Es wurde eine neue Beleuchtung und ein neues IFE eingebaut. Vor dem Start werden Wasser, Orangensaft und Champagner angeboten. Ich nehme erst mal ein Wasser.

British Airways Club World – Sitz

In Club World bieten die Sitze einen hohen Komfort auf langen Reisen. Durch die stufenlose Verstellung kann man sich seine bequemste Sitzposition ganz einfach selber einstellen und natürlich auch in ein 180° flaches Bett verwandeln. Für Alleinreisende ist die Trennwand ganz nützlich um ein bisschen mehr Privatsphäre zu bekommen. Gerade am Fenster im Oberdeck sind die Ablagemöglichkeiten extrem gut. Ein kleiner Nachteil ist, dass man ggf. über die Füße eines anderen Passagiers klettern muss, wenn man nicht am Gang sitzt und dieser schläft. Leider müssen die auch die Bildschirme zu Start und Landung wieder eingeklappt werden.

British Airways Club World – Service

Die Reiseflughöhe ist erreicht und der Service beginnt. Ich starte mit einem Tanqueray Gin Tonic, denn auf solche Ereignisse muss man schließlich anstoßen. Dazu gibt es abgepackte Mandeln.

Gin Tonic

Gin Tonic

British Airways Club World – Vorspeise

Wenig später geht es dann auch mit dem Mittagessen los. Die Speisen ließen sich vor Abflug online bestellen, ein guter Service, denn so kann man sich sicher sein, sein Essenswunsch auch erfüllt zu bekommen. Serviert werden drei exzellente Gänge, gestartet wird mit gegrillten King Prawns an einer marinierten Avocado mit Tomaten Salsa und Salat. Ich finde, dazu passt ein guter Weißwein, wie der 2012 Cuvaison Chardonnay aus dem Napa Valley.

Vorspeise

Vorspeise

British Airways Club World – Hauptspeise

Als Hauptspeise standen vier Gerichte zur Auswahl und meine Wahl traf die langsam geschmorten Hertfordshire Ochsenbäckchen mit Buttergemüse und Kartoffeln. Das Fleisch war sehr zart und relativ saftig. Meine Schwester entschied sich für Garganelli Pasta mit Kürbis Caponata und gerösteten Salbei.

British Airways Club World – Dessert

Zum Dessert entscheide ich mich trotz mehrfacher Bewerbung durch die Stewardess gegen den Cheesecake. Eine Tasse Kaffee und Eiscreme sollte als Abschluss reichen.

Dessert

Dessert

Als alles abgeräumt ist, wird der Sitz noch hineingefahren und ich mache mir mein Bett. Bis New York sind es leider nur noch 3,5 Stunden und ich wollte zumindest in den Genuss des Bettes kommen. Nebenbei läuft der Marsianer.

Schlafposition Club World

Schlafposition Club World

Ich kann eine gute Stunde schlafen. Danach wird es zeit sich ein wenig die Beine zu vertreten. Wir werfen mal einen Blick auf die Snack Bar und in die andere Club World auf dem Maindeck.

British Airways Club World – Afternoon Tea

Mittlerweile haben wir auch schon den Sankt-Lorenz Strom hinter uns gelassen. Bis New York ist auch nicht mehr weit. Als Snack gibt es noch einen Afternoon Tea mit süßen und herzhaften Köstlichkeiten.

Afternoon Tea

Afternoon Tea

Dann beginnt auch schon der Landeanflug, als wir Long Island überfliegen. Ein toller Flug neigt sich dem Ende. Wir docken am Terminal 7 in JFK an. Das Terminal ist auf British Airways gebrandet und wird zum größten Teil auch von denen genutzt. Mit uns stand noch eine Boeing 757 von Opensky und der kleine A318 aus London City am Terminal.

Anflug auf New York

Anflug auf New York

Unser Bewertung von BA Club World auf dem Weg von London (LHR) nach New York (JFK)

  • Sitz
  • Service
  • Sauberkeit
  • Essen
  • Getränke
  • Inflight Entertainment
  • Preis/Leistung
4.4

Kurzfassung

Toller Sitz, klasse Service, gutes Essen. Was will man mehr? Der Club World Sitz ist wirklich gut und man kann hier eine ganze Weile verbringen und vor allem bequem liegen und schlafen. Durch die kleine optische Auffrischung und einem neuen IFE kann man getrost British Airways für seine Reisen wählen.

Robert

Hi, ich bin Robert und seit meinem ersten Flug 1993, in einer Tupolev Tu-154, vom Fliegervirus infiziert. Chancen auf Heilung gleich null. Seit ich mich nun noch intensiver mit Meilenprogrammen auseinandersetze und Topbonus Platin sowie Star Alliance Gold bin, ist alles noch viel schlimmer geworden. :-) Zu meinem Glück zählt, das ich eine sehr verständnisvolle Familie habe, die meine Leidenschaft gerne mit mir teilt und davon profitiert. Im Sommer 2015 sind wir von Berlin in die Nähe von München gezogen und haben nun auch einen großartigen und vor allem funktionierenden Flughafen direkt vor der Haustür. Es werden also noch viele spannende Reisen und Bilder geben, schön das ihr dabei seit!

Keine Antworten

  1. 22. Januar 2020

    […] Club World – Check more at http://www.miles-around…., #747-400 #avgeek […]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.