Aegean Airlines Mileage Run 2018 - Four missing segments to Gold status

Some may tell me mad to spend an afternoon during the annual leave in Greece with four flights. Clearly, for the majority, there is no sense in it, for 25 minutes to fly to the island of Chios. I do need these Mileage Run with Aegean Airlines to extend my frequent flyer status Star Alliance Gold for another year.

Mileage Run mit Aegean Airlines

Mileage Run mit Aegean Airlines

Aegean Airlines Mileage Run Routing

On the Aegean website, I was looking in March after four cheap flights from airport of Thessaloniki. After a good hour of Research, I found a very favorable combination to the Greek island of Chios. The Routing, which consisted of two separate flight tickets, then looked as follows:

Ticket 1:

  • Monday, 01. October 2018, at 17:25 to 18:15 PM: Thessaloniki to Athens, OA 121
  • Monday, 01. October 2018, at 20:05 to 20:50 at: Athens to Chios, OA 274

Ticket 2:

  • Monday, 01. October 2018, at 21:15 to 22:00 PM Chios to Athens, OA 275
  • Monday, 01. October 2018, at 23:15 to 00:10 a.m.: Athens to Thessaloniki, OA 136
Aegean Airlines Mileage Run Routing (source: gcmap.com)

Aegean Airlines Mileage Run Routing (source: gcmap.com)

The first Ticket cost 50,53 GBP and the second Ticket with 48,24 EUR is only slightly less. To extend for a total price of less than EUR 100, therefore, is a very acceptable Routing to the frequent flyer status for another year.

Flug 1 des Aegean Mileage Run: Thessaloniki nach Athen

At 15:30, I started from our Hotel with the car in the direction of the airport of Thessaloniki. The car I put on a low-cost airport Parking, which is only a five minute walk away from the Terminal.

Thessaloniki Airport

Thessaloniki Airport

After I was able to bring the security control thanks to the Gold Track fast behind me, I visited the Aegean Business Lounge. This has been renovated since my last visit to the extensive and enlarged. Behind the reception, the Buffet and a Seating area to eat is now. In the direction of the glass front, with views of the apron, is a large area with armchairs. In between is a long Desk with power was installed terminals and PC's.

Aegean Business Lounge Thessaloniki

Aegean Business Lounge Thessaloniki

The biggest advantage of the Aegean Business Lounge in Thessaloniki is, however, that the Boarding is done directly from the Lounge. There are here at the airport, up to now, no passenger bridges, I left the Lounge via a staircase and was driven with the other guests to the plane. The Boarding of the Airbus A319 had begun at this time.

Boarding (Airbus A319 - MSN 2468 - SX-DGF)

Boarding (Airbus A319 – MSN 2468 – SX-DGF)

View of the cockpit

View of the cockpit

The flight to Athens was almost fully booked and was largely uneventful. Aegean Airlines offered on this short flight, only a drink and candy. The views of the Greek Islands was from my seat 14A, however, is terrific.

Runway Thessaloniki

Runway Thessaloniki

View of the Greek islands

View of the Greek islands

Landing at Athens airport

Landing at Athens airport

Pride the Greek Air Force

Pride the Greek Air Force

Flug 2 des Aegean Mileage Run: Athen nach Chios

We landed on time in Athens. Unfortunately, I had to as a transfer passenger repeatedly through the security check. Thanks to the Fast Track that was done quickly. Through the lush of the Duty Free area, I made my way to the Aegean Business Lounge. These, too, had an extensive Makeover. There was a large Seating area, a long Buffet with very good selection of food & drinks and an area with tables and chairs. The most ingenious of the Board, however, was the car with the extensive range of spirits.

Aegean Business Lounge Athen

Aegean Business Lounge Athen

Range of spirits

Range of spirits

The Boarding call for flight 2 to Chios began with 15 minutes of delay. With a Bus we were on the run-up to a parked ATR 42 hazards. Suburban I noticed my Dilemma: A ATR 42 is not long like all the other passenger aircraft from the front, but the Join is only on the rear and only door possible. Since I've been in Chios and less than 30 minutes to get to Require time that would have been my reserved seat 2A is quite unfavorable. I joined as the last passenger in the machine, and saw that in series 13 no one was sitting. I assured me of a flight attendant and then took on 13A place. Just after that, I changed the seat for the return flight to Athens on 12A. If I leave my backpack after easy in the Luggage compartment? ;)

Departure gate to Chios

Departure gate to Chios

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 - MSN 1011 - SX OAW

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 – MSN 1011 – A-OAW

Flug 3: Chios or Athen

The airport of Chios is fortunately only a very small building. After my arrival I had to stand only on the left side of the building through a glass door, right through the security check and I was back to my departure gate. The Whole thing took place so quickly that I even had to wait 15 minutes to Boarding. A direct Turnaround is at the airport of Chios possible without any problems!

Airport building of Chios

Airport building of Chios

With a "Hello again!" I looked in the verdutze face of the flight attendant, and took on seat 12A, space. After just 21 minutes on the island of Chios, lifted the ATR 42 with me again in the direction of Athens. On the flight to Athens, there was a Snack and a candy. Drinks were distributed during the short flight.

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 - MSN 1011 - SX OAW

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 – MSN 1011 – A-OAW

After a bumpy landing, I landed for the last Time today in the airport of Athens. With the Bus it went from the apron back into the main terminal. The way into the Lounge I found quickly. This was also pleasantly empty, so I could make a few photos. Possibly there later still Lounge Review in a separate post.

Seating area in the Aegean Business Lounge Athens

Seating area in the Aegean Business Lounge Athens

Flug 4: Athen nach Thessaloniki

After a strong coffee and some Greek Goodies in the Lounge, I went to the departure gate B13. The 35-minute return flight to Thessaloniki proceeded without special incidents. Amazingly, this flight was fully booked, with a few places. Directly after my arrival at the Thessaloniki airport, I went straight to the rental car and reached after 45 minutes of our Hotel. A great and very time efficient Mileage Run!

A day later, all four flights to my Miles&Bonus listed account and my Star Alliance Gold Status extended for a further year.

Assessment of Aegean Airlines in Economy Class on short-haul flights
  • Seat
  • Service
  • Cleanliness
  • Drinks
  • Food
  • Price/Performance
3.3

abstract

Aegean Airlines has already won several awards as the best regional airline in Europe. However, I was flights for my four domestic this time, not so convinced. It started with the fact that I should pay yourself as a Miles&Bonus Gold customer, for a seat in the front rows. The Service was friendly and fast. The offer of food and drinks, was certainly not in view of the short flight time, excellent.

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2012 I live with my wife Christin in Halle (Saale). When travelling I love flying, discovering good food and drink and spending the night in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always looking for the next adventure. I have been reporting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I confirm

Aegean Airlines Mileage Run 2018 – Vier fehlende Segmente zum Gold Status

Manche mögen mich für verrückt erklären, einen Nachmittag während des Erholungsurlaubes in Griechenland mit vier Flügen zu verbringen. Klar, für die Mehrheit besteht kein Sinn darin, für nur 25 Minuten auf die Insel Chios zu fliegen. Ich benötige allerdings diesen Mileage Run mit Aegean Airlines, um meinen Vielfliegerstatus Star Alliance Gold für ein weiteres Jahr zu verlängern.

Mileage Run mit Aegean Airlines

Mileage Run mit Aegean Airlines

Aegean Airlines Mileage Run Routing

Über die Aegean Webseite suchte ich im März nach vier günstigen Flügen ab dem Flughafen von Thessaloniki. Nach einer guten Stunde Recherche fand ich eine sehr günstige Kombination zur griechischen Insel Chios. Das Routing, welches aus zwei getrennten Flugtickets bestand, sah dann wie folgt aus:

Ticket 1:

  • Montag 01. Oktober 2018, 17:25 Uhr bis 18:15 Uhr: Thessaloniki nach Athen, OA 121
  • Montag 01. Oktober 2018, 20:05 Uhr bis 20:50 Uhr: Athen nach Chios, OA 274

Ticket 2:

  • Montag 01. Oktober 2018, 21:15 Uhr bis 22:00 Uhr: Chios nach Athen, OA 275
  • Montag 01. Oktober 2018, 23:15 Uhr bis 00:10 Uhr: Athen nach Thessaloniki, OA 136
Aegean Airlines Mileage Run Routing (Quelle: gcmap.com)

Aegean Airlines Mileage Run Routing (Quelle: gcmap.com)

Das erste Ticket kostete 50,53 EUR und das zweite Ticket mit 48,24 EUR nur unwesentlich weniger. Für einen Gesamtpreis von unter 100 EUR also ein sehr akzeptables Routing um den Vielfliegerstatus ein weiteres Jahr zu verlängern.

Flug 1: Thessaloniki nach Athen

Um 15:30 Uhr startete ich von unserem Hotel mit den Mietwagen in Richtung Flughafen Thessaloniki. Das Auto stellte ich auf einem kostengünstigen Flughafenparkplatz ab, welcher nur fünf Gehminuten vom Terminal entfernt war.

Flughafen von Thessaloniki

Flughafen von Thessaloniki

Nachdem ich die Sicherheitskontrolle dank Gold Track schnell hinter mich bringen konnte, besuchte ich die Aegean Business Lounge. Diese wurde seit meinem letzten Besuch umfangreich renoviert und vergrößert. Hinter dem Empfang befindet sich jetzt das Buffet und ein Sitzbereich zum Essen. In Richtung der Glasfront, mit Blick auf das Vorfeld, ist ein großer Bereich mit Sesseln entstanden. Dazwischen wurde ein langer Schreibtisch mit Stromanschlüssen und PCs eingebaut.

Aegean Business Lounge Thessaloniki

Aegean Business Lounge Thessaloniki

Der größte Vorteil der Aegean Business Lounge Thessaloniki ist allerdings, dass das Boarding direkt aus der Lounge durchgeführt wird. Da es hier am Flughafen bis jetzt keine Fluggastbrücken gibt, verließ ich die Lounge über eine Treppe und wurde mit den anderen Gästen zum Flugzeug gefahren. Das Boarding der Airbus A319 hatte zu diesem Zeitpunkt schon begonnen.

Boarding (Airbus A319 - MSN 2468 - SX-DGF)

Boarding (Airbus A319 – MSN 2468 – SX-DGF)

Blick in das Cockpit

Blick in das Cockpit

Der Flug nach Athen war annähernd ausgebucht und verlief großteils ereignislos. Aegean Airlines bot auf diesem kurzen Flug nur ein Getränk und Bonbon an. Die Aussicht auf die griechischen Inseln war vom meinem Sitz 14A allerdings grandios.

Startbahn von Thessaloniki

Startbahn von Thessaloniki

Ausblick auf die griechischen Inseln

Ausblick auf die griechischen Inseln

Landeanflug auf den Flughafen Athen

Landeanflug auf den Flughafen Athen

Stolz der griechischen Luftwaffe

Stolz der griechischen Luftwaffe

Flug 2: Athen nach Chios

Wir landeten pünktlich in Athen. Leider musste ich als Transferpassagier wiederholt durch die Sicherheitskontrolle. Dank des Fast Track war das aber schnell erledigt. Durch den üppigen Duty Free Bereich bahnte ich mir den Weg zur Aegean Business Lounge. Auch diese hatte ein umfangreiches Makeover erfahren. Es gab einen großen Sitzbereich, ein langes Buffet mit sehr guter Auswahl an Speisen & Getränken und einen Bereich mit Tischen und Stühlen. Am genialsten war aber der Bordwagen mit dem umfangreichen Sortiment an Spirituosen.

Aegean Business Lounge Athen

Aegean Business Lounge Athen

Angebot an Spirituosen

Angebot an Spirituosen

Das Boarding für Flug 2 nach Chios begann mit 15 Minuten Verspätung. Mit einem Bus wurden wir zur auf dem Vorfeld geparkten ATR 42 gefahren. Vorort bemerkte ich mein Dilemma: Eine ATR 42 wird nicht wie alle anderen Passagierflugzeuge von vorne geboardet, sondern das Einsteigen ist nur über die hintere und einzige Tür möglich. Da ich in Chios weniger als 30 Minuten zum Umsteigen zeit habe, wäre mein reservierter Sitz 2A ziemlich ungünstig gewesen. Ich stieg also als letzter Passagier in die Maschine und sah, dass in Reihe 13 noch niemand saß. Ich versicherte mich kurz bei der Flugbegleiterin und nahm dann auf 13A Platz. Just danach änderte ich auch noch den Sitz für den Rückflug nach Athen auf 12A. Ob ich meinen Rucksack nachher einfach schon im Gepäckfach lasse? ;)

Abfluggate nach Chios

Abfluggate nach Chios

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 - MSN 1011 - SX-OAW

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 – MSN 1011 – SX-OAW

Flug 3: Chios nach Athen

Der Flughafen von Chios besteht glücklicherweise nur aus einem sehr kleinen Gebäude. Nach meiner Ankunft musste ich nur auf der linken Seite des Gebäudes durch eine Glastür, rechts durch die Sicherheitskontrolle und schon stand ich wieder an meinem Abfluggate. Das Ganze ging so zügig vonstatten, dass ich sogar noch 15 Minuten auf das Boarding warten musste. Ein direkter Turnaround ist also am Flughafen Chios ohne Probleme möglich!

Flughafengebäude von Chios

Flughafengebäude von Chios

Mit einem „Hello again!“ schaute ich in das verdutze Gesicht der Flugbegleiterin und nahm auf Sitz 12A Platz. Nach nur 21 Minuten auf der Insel Chios, hob die ATR 42 wieder mit mir in Richtung Athen ab. Auf dem Flug nach Athen gab es wieder einen Snack und ein Bonbon. Getränke wurden während des kurzen Fluges nicht verteilt.

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 - MSN 1011 - SX-OAW

Olympic Air ATR 42/72 – MSN 1011 – SX-OAW

Nach einem holprigen Anflug landete ich das letzte Mal für heute auf dem Flughafen von Athen. Mit dem Bus ging es vom Vorfeld aus wieder in das Hauptterminal. Den Weg in die Lounge fand ich nun schnell. Diese war auch angenehm leer, sodass ich noch ein paar Fotos machen konnte. Eventuell gibt es hierzu später noch ein Lounge Review in einem extra Beitrag.

Sitzbereich in der Aegean Business Lounge Athen

Sitzbereich in der Aegean Business Lounge Athen

Flug 4: Athen nach Thessaloniki

Nach einem starken Kaffee und einigen griechischen Leckereien in der Lounge begab ich mich zum Abfluggate B13. Der 35 Minuten lange Rückflug nach Thessaloniki verlief ohne besondere Vorkommnisse. Erstaunlich war, dass auch dieser Flug bis auf wenige Plätze ausgebucht war. Direkt nach meiner Ankunft am Flughafen Thessaloniki begab ich mich auf direkten Weg zum Mietwagen und erreichte nach 45 Minuten unser Hotel. Ein toller und zeitlich sehr effizienter Mileage Run!

Schon einen Tag später waren alle vier Flüge meinem Miles&Bonus-Konto vermerkt und mein Star Alliance Gold Status wieder um ein weiteres Jahr verlängert.

Bewertung der Aegean Airlines Economy Class auf der Kurzstrecke
  • Sitz
  • Service
  • Sauberkeit
  • Getränke
  • Essen
  • Preis/Leistung
3.3

Kurzfassung

Aegean Airlines wurde bereits mehrfach als beste Regionalairline in Europa ausgezeichnet. Allerdings war ich bei meinen vier Inlandsflügen diesmal nicht so überzeugt. Es fing schon damit an, dass ich selbst als Miles&Bonus Gold-Kunde für einen Sitzplatz in den vorderen Reihen bezahlen sollte. Der Service war freundlich und zügig. Das Angebot an Speisen und Getränken, war sicherlich auch in Anbetracht der kurzen Flugzeit, nicht überragend.

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

* Die Checkbox für die Zustimmung zur Speicherung ist nach DSGVO zwingend.

Ich akzeptiere