Plane spotting at Munich Airport

Icelandair - Boeing 757-200 - MSN 24600 - TF-ISZ

Munich Airport is the second largest airport in Germany. There are two parallel runways (South 26L/08R and North 26R/08L), which are used for take-offs and landings depending on the wind direction. Due to the relatively large distance between the two lanes, changing position when planespotting is often difficult. As a rule, machines destined for the south or east are dispatched on the southern runway.

Even though we didn't start our autumn vacation by plane for personal reasons, at least one visit to the airport was a must during our stop in Munich. Together with Robert from airfurt.net, we drove to various spotter points on a Sunday afternoon.

Planespotting MUC photo position 1: P81 holiday parking garage

From the top floor of the P81 vacationer car park at the air freight terminal you have a great view of the southern runway and the planes taxiing past on the taxiway. The car can either be parked in the multi-storey car park for a fee or on the hard shoulder (2 hours free of charge) in front of it.

Planespotting MUC photo position 2: Lookout Hill South

The viewing hill south is on the ED30 between Schwaig and Hallbergmoos. However, we did not climb the hill, but went over a small bridge to the fence or gate for rescue vehicles. Here you have a good view of the landing and taking off planes on runway 26L. You can take photos here almost all day long as you have the sun at your back.

Planespotting MUC photo position 3: North lookout hill

There is also a viewing hill at our third position. From this position you are much closer to the track. We were lucky that the planes took off and landed eastbound that day.

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2021, I live with my wife Christin and our son in Merseburg and work in Leipzig as a product manager. What I love about travelling is flying, discovering delicious food and drink, and staying in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always on the lookout for the next adventure. I have been posting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Planespotting am Flughafen München

Der Münchner Flughafen ist der zweitgrößte Flughafen Deutschlands. Es gibt zwei parallel verlaufende Start- und Landebahnen (Süd 26L/08R und Nord 26R/08L), die je nach Windrichtung für Starts und Landungen genutzt werden. Aufgrund der relativ großen Entfernung zwischen den beiden Bahnen ist ein Positionswechsel beim Planespotting oft schwierig. Im Regelfall werden die Maschinen, mit Ziel in Richtung Süden bzw. Osten, auf der Südbahn abgefertigt.

Auch wenn wir unseren Herbsturlaub aus persönlichen Gründen nicht mit dem Flugzeug begannen, war bei unserem Stopp in München zu mindestens ein Besuch am Flughafen Pflicht. Zusammen mit Robert von airfurt.net, fuhren wir an einem Sonntagmittag verschiedene Spotterpunkte an.

Planespotting MUC Foto-Position 1: P81 Urlauber Parkhaus

Von der obersten Etage des P81 Urlauber Parkhauses am Luftfrachtterminal hat man einen tollen Blick auf die Südbahn und auf die vorbei rollenden Flugzeuge auf dem Taxiway. Das Auto kann entweder gebührenpflichtig im Parkhaus oder auf dem Seitenstreifen (2h kostenlos) davor abgestellt werden.

Planespotting MUC Foto-Position 2: Aussichtshügel Süd

Der Aussichtshügel Süd liegt an der ED30 zwischen Schwaig und Hallbergmoos. Wir haben allerdings nicht den Hügel erklommen, sondern sind über eine kleine Brücke zum Zaun bzw. Tor für Rettungsfahrzeuge gegangen. Hier hat man einen guten Blick auf die landenden und startenden Flugzeuge auf der Bahn 26L. Das Fotografieren ist hier nahezu den ganzen Tag über möglich, da man die Sonne im Rücken hat.

Planespotting MUC Foto-Position 3: Aussichtshügel Nord

Auch an unserer dritten Position ist ein Aussichtshügel vorhanden. Von dieser Position ist man deutlich näher an der Bahn. Wir hatten Glück, dass die Flugzeuge an diesem Tag in Richtung Osten starteten und landeten.

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ich akzeptiere