Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER to London

Thanks to an error-fares we flew in January 2017 with the Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER from Toronto to London. In contrast to the Business Class in the Airbus A330, the cabin in the Boeing 777-300ER is much more comfortable and meets the current standard. You can find out in our Trip Report whether the new Executive Pod seats were also convincing.

Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER at the gate in Toronto

Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER at the gate in Toronto

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER – Boarding AC848

The boarding of flight AC848 to London started punctually at 7 pm. As Business Class passengers, we were one of the first to board. Apparently the crew wasn't really prepared for us at that time. So in the first 10 minutes on board the Boeing 777-300ER a slight chaos broke out. Also at my seat 1A a repair at the table was made. So I had time to take some photos for the review.

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER - Cabin

The Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER consisted of two cabins with a total of 40 seats. The front cabin was the larger one with seven rows. In the smaller rear cabin there were only three rows of Business Class. It was followed by three rows of Premium Economy seats, followed by Economy Class.

Seat map Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER (Source: seatguru. com)

Seat map Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER (Source: seatguru. com)

The Air Canada Executive Pod seats are installed in the Business Class cabin in a 1-2-1 configuration. This guarantees direct access to the aisle for every passenger. In contrast to the old Classic Pod seating system, the seats are built diagonally in the so-called reverse Herringbone or herringbone arrangement, i.e. facing away from the aisle. Together with a screen, Air Canada creates a pleasant privacy.

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER

Where is the best seat in the Air Canada Business Class?

As already mentioned, we were in places 1A and 2A. Unfortunately, due to the close proximity to the galley and the front toilet, there was never any real peace of mind. On a night flight a place in the smaller Business Class cabin, e. g. in row 11, is certainly more pleasant and quiet. On the other hand, we were served dinner first, which is not wrong on a 6 hours Red Eye flight.

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER – Seat

Compared to the previous Classic Pod concept (Trip Report: Air Canada Airbus A330) of 2008, the new Executive Pod seating in Air Canada's international Business Class was a real quantum leap for us as customers. The new seats, based on Rockwell Collins' Diamond Seat, were introduced to Air Canada together with the Boeing 787.

seat 1A

seat 1A

Air Canada

Air Canada “Executive Pod” Business Class seat

After the repairs at the table of my place were finished, I was allowed to stow my things. The practical folding compartment under the window, which contained the power socket, USB socket, headphone socket and the operation of the entertainment system, was open. I liked this a lot, because I often searched for the socket of other airlines.

Operation of the entertainment system and sockets

Operation of the entertainment system and sockets

The control of the seat was very easy via a side touch screen display. In addition to the various adjustment options, the seat offered a massage function and pneumatic adjustment of the hardness level in seven stages. To the right of the simple display, there were also quick selection buttons for the sitting position (e.g. sleeping).

Sitzeinstellung - Massagefunktion

seat adjustment – Massagefunktion

There was an appropriately large table for working and eating. The table could be moved freely along the x and y axes. In addition, a personal LED reading lamp was mounted to the left of my head, which was easy to position.

table

table

persönliche Reading Lamp

persönliche Reading Lamp

After the dinner I put the seat on the sleeping position and took off my pajamas from the Lufthansa First Class (Trip Report) on. The seat, transformed into a 2.03 m long and 53 cm wide bed, offered plenty of space when lying down. The footwell was also generously dimensioned. A mattress or other bed linen, apart from the lined blanket and the pillow, which was already on my seat during boarding, were not offered.

sufficient legroom

sufficient legroom

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER – Entertainment

Air Canada advertises that the 45.7cm screen is the largest on a North American airline. The control was possible via touch as well as via the hand controller in the storage compartment. This I could, just like Singapore Airlines in the A350 (Trip Report)as a second screen. The selection of films and series was extensive. A variety of on-demand content with German soundtrack was also offered. The interactive flight chart offered some nice features like the display of cockpit instruments.

Entertainment System

Entertainment System

The sound quality of the distributed noise canceling headphones was fine. However, they were not distributed until after the start. This could have been due to the mess of the boarding.

Air Canada Noise Canceling Headphones

Noise-canceling headphones

My only criticism of the in-flight entertainment is that Air Canada does not offer WLAN on the transatlantic route. Here are other airlines, e.g. at SAS in der Premium Economy (Trip Report), are already one step ahead.

Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER – Service

After the initial difficulties, the crew began serving the welcome drink. The choice was between champagne, orange juice and water. Of course, I took a glass of the excellent Drappier Champager. Slowly the situation relaxed again and the crew made a relaxed and friendly face.

Glass of excellent Drappier of Champagne

Glass of excellent Drappier of Champagne

Along with the menu, a small water bottle, the Amenity Kit and a Fast Track Voucher for entry at London Heathrow Airport were handed out before the start. The flight attendant quickly asked for our wishes for dinner and breakfast before we took off. The further support during the flight was very courteous and friendly. At regular intervals we were actively offered drinks or asked for further wishes. Business Class Service like out of a textbook!

Menu

Menu

Air Canada Business Class on the Boeing 777-300ER - Food and Beverages

The service started shortly after the start with a warm nut mixture and a Johnnie Walker Black Label Scotch Whisky.

warm nut mixture and Johnnie Walker Black Label Scotch Whiskey

warm nut mixture and Johnnie Walker Black Label Scotch Whiskey

Dinner

The starter was a smoked duck breast on a Waldorf salad. The apple and mustard puree was an excellent accompaniment to the meat. Additionally there was a mixed salad with vinaigrette on the tablet. For the starter I chose a Chardonnay from the Niagara region (Canada) matured in barriques.

smoked duck salad in a Waldorf

smoked duck salad in a Waldorf

For the main course I decided on the grilled fillet of beef with pepper sauce, mashed potatoes and green asparagus. The quality of the meat was fine and the cooking was just right.

grilled AAA beef

grilled AAA beef

Before the dessert, I had some cheese, crackers and grapes served before I finished off with a dark chocolate fondant with hazelnut nougat and cranberry-raspberry compote.

Dark chocolate fondant with hazelnut nougat and cranberry-raspberry compote

Dark chocolate fondant with hazelnut nougat and cranberry-raspberry compote

Breakfast

Breakfast was served shortly before Ireland, about 1:20 hours before landing. Even before the start I had decided for an American breakfast and a warm blueberry muffin. In summary: Tasty but nothing special! The silence at breakfast was unfortunately disturbed by turbulences, which made the enjoyment of caffeinated hot drinks more difficult. ;)

In spite of the delayed departure in Toronto we set up almost punctually at London Heathrow airport and thanks to the Fast Track Voucher the entry to England was quickly done.

More information about Air Canada

Web page:https://www.aircanada.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/aircanada/
Online booking:Expedia* or Skyscanner*

Did you like the show? Then share it in the social networks. With it you support our work. Have you had any experience with Air Canada Business Class? Then I am looking forward to your opinion in the comments.

Review of the Air Canada Business Class in the Boeing 777-300ER
  • Seat
  • Service
  • Entertainment
  • Cleanliness
  • Drinks
  • Food
  • Price/Performance
4.1

abstract

Overall I was very impressed by the Air Canada Business Class flight in the Boeing 777-300ER. The service was friendly and efficient, the catering tasty. The seat offered enough storage space, a lowerable armrest and as a highlight a massage function. In contrast to the old Classic Pod seating system, the Executive Pod seats are installed diagonally in the so-called reverse Herringbone or herringbone arrangement, i.e. facing away from the aisle. Together with a screen, Air Canada creates a pleasant privacy.

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2012 I live with my wife Christin in Halle (Saale). When travelling I love flying, discovering good food and drink and spending the night in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always looking for the next adventure. I have been reporting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I confirm

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER nach London

Dank eines Error-Fares flogen wir im Januar 2017 mit der Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER von Toronto nach London. Im Gegensatz zu der Business Class in der Airbus A330, ist die Kabine in der Boeing 777-300ER wesentlich komfortabler und entspricht dem aktuellen Standard. Ob die neuen „Executive Pod“-Sitze auch überzeugt haben, erfahrt ihr in unserem Trip Report.

Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER am Gate in Toronto

Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER am Gate in Toronto

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER – Boarding AC848

Das Boarding von Flug AC848 nach London begann pünktlich um 19 Uhr. Als Passagiere der Business Class waren wir eine der Ersten, die an Bord gingen. Anscheinend war die Crew zu diesem Zeitpunkt noch nicht wirklich auf uns vorbereitet. So brach in den ersten 10 Minuten an Bord der Boeing 777-300ER ein leichtes Chaos aus. Auch wurde an meinem Sitzplatz 1A noch eine Reparatur am Tisch vorgenommen. So hatte ich aber Zeit, noch ein paar Fotos für das Review zu machen.

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER – Kabine

Die Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER bestand aus zwei Kabinen mit insgesamt 40 Sitzen. Die vordere Kabine war mit sieben Reihen die Größere. In der kleineren hinteren Kabine befanden sich nur drei Reihen Business Class. Dahinter folgten drei Sitzreihen der Premium Economy und anschließend die Economy Class.

Sitzplan Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER (Quelle: seatguru.com)

Sitzplan Air Canada Boeing 777-300ER (Quelle: seatguru.com)

Die Air Canada „Executive Pod“-Sitze sind in der Business Class Kabine in einer 1-2-1 Konfiguration verbaut. Somit ist der direkte Zugang zum Gang für jeden Passagier garantiert. Im Gegensatz zur alten Bestuhlung „Classic Pod“ sind die Sitze schräg in der sogenannten reverse Herringbone- oder Fischgrätenanordnung, also vom Gang abgewendet, verbaut. Zusammen mit einer Sichtblende schafft Air Canada eine angenehme Privatsphäre.

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER

Wo ist der beste Sitzplatz in der Air Canada Business Class?

Wie bereits erwähnt, saßen wir auf den Plätzen 1A und 2A. Aufgrund der unmittelbaren Nähe zur Galley und der vorderen Toilette kehrte leider nie wirklich Ruhe ein. Auf einem Nachtflug ist ein Platz in der kleineren Business Class Kabine, z. B. in Reihe 11, sicherlich angenehmer und ruhiger. Andererseits wurde uns als Erstes das Abendessen serviert, was auf einem 6 Stunden Red-Eye-Flug auch nicht verkehrt ist.

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER – Sitz

Im Vergleich zum vorherigen „Classic Pod“-Konzept (Trip Report: Air Canada Airbus A330) von 2008 war die neue „Executive Pod“-Bestuhlung in Air Canadas internationaler Business Class für uns als Kunden ein wirklicher Quantensprung. Die neuen Sitze, welche auf dem Diamond Seat von Rockwell Collins basieren, wurden zusammen mit der Boeing 787 bei Air Canada eingeführt.

Sitz 1A

Sitz 1A

Air Canada

Air Canada „Executive Pod“ Business Class Sitz

Nachdem die Reparaturen am Tisch meines Platzes abgeschlossen waren, durfte ich meine Sachen verstauen. Das praktische Klappfach unter dem Fenster, welches die Steckdose, USB-Buchse, Kopfhöreranschluss und die Bedienung des Unterhaltungssystems enthielt, stand offen. Dies gefiel mir sehr, denn bei anderen Airlines habe ich schon häufig z. B. nach der Steckdose lange gesucht.

Bedienung des Unterhaltungssystems und Steckdosen

Bedienung des Unterhaltungssystems und Steckdosen

Die Steuerung des Sitzes war über ein seitliches Touchscreen Display sehr einfach möglich. Neben den verschiedenen Verstellmöglichkeiten bot der Sitz eine Massagefunktion und pneumatische Einstellung des Härtegrades in sieben Stufen. Rechts neben dem simplen Display waren außerdem noch Schnellwahltasten für die Sitzposition (z. B. Schlafen) angeordnet.

Sitzeinstellung - Massagefunktion

Sitzeinstellung – Massagefunktion

Zum Arbeiten und Essen war ein angemessen großer Tisch vorhanden. Dieser ließ sich entlang der x- und y-Achse frei bewegen. Außerdem war links von meinem Kopf eine persönliche LED-Leselampe montiert, die einfach zu positionieren war.

Tisch

Tisch

persönliche Leselampe

persönliche Leselampe

Nach dem Essen stellte ich den Sitz auf die Schlafposition und zog meinen mitgebrachten Schlafanzug aus der Lufthansa First Class (Trip Report) an. Der zum 2,03 m langen und 53 cm breiten Bett verwandelte Sitz bot viel Platz im Liegen. Auch der Fußraum war großzügig bemessen. Eine Matratze oder andere Bettwäsche, abgesehen von der gefütterten Decke und dem Kopfkissen, welches schon beim Boarding auf meinem Platz lag, wurden nicht angeboten.

ausreichend Fußraum

ausreichend Fußraum

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER – Entertainment

Air Canada wirbt damit, dass der Bildschirm mit 45,7cm Diagonale der größte bei einer nordamerikanischen Airline ist. Die Steuerung war sowohl über Touch, als auch über den Handcontroller im Staufach möglich. Diesen konnte ich, genauso wie bei Singapore Airlines in der A350 (Trip Report), als Second-Screen nutzen. Die Auswahl an Filmen und Serien war umfangreich. Es wurden auch eine Vielzahl von On-Demand-Inhalten mit deutscher Tonspur angeboten. Die interaktive Flugkarte bot einige schöne Funktionen wie die Anzeige der Cockpitinstrumente.

Entertainment System

Entertainment System

Die Tonqualität der ausgeteilten Noise-Canceling-Kopfhörer war in Ordnung. Allerdings wurden sie erst nach dem Start ausgeteilt. Dies kann aber auch am Durcheinander vom Boarding gelegen haben.

Air Canada Noise-Canceling-Kopfhörer

Noise-Canceling-Kopfhörer

Mein einziger Kritikpunkt bei der Bordunterhaltung ist, das Air Canada auf der Transatlantik Strecke leider kein WLAN anbietet. Hier sind andere Fluglinien, z. B. bei SAS in der Premium Economy (Trip Report), schon einen Schritt voraus.

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER – Service

Nach den anfänglichen Schwierigkeiten begann die Crew mit dem Servieren des Begrüßungsgetränkes. Die Auswahl bestand zwischen Champagner, Orangensaft und Wasser. Ich genehmigte mir selbstverständlich ein Glas des hervorragenden Drappier Champager. So langsam entspannte sich auch die Lage wieder und die Crew machte ein entspanntes und freundliches Gesicht.

Glas des hervorragenden Drappier Champager

Glas des hervorragenden Drappier Champager

Zusammen mit der Speisekarte, wurde auch eine kleine Wasserflasche, das Amenity Kit und einen Fast Track Voucher für die Einreise am Flughafen London-Heathrow, vor dem Start ausgeteilt. Der Flugbegleiter fragte noch schnell unsere Wünsche für Abendessen und Frühstück ab, bevor wir abhoben. Die weitere Betreuung während des Fluges war sehr zuvorkommend und freundlich. In regelmäßigen Abständen wurden aktiv Getränke angeboten oder auch nach weiteren Wünschen gefragt. Business Class Service wie aus dem Lehrbuch!

Speisekarte

Speisekarte

Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER – Essen und Trinken

Der Service begann kurz nach dem Start mit einer warmen Nussmischung und einem Johnnie Walker Black Label Scotch Whisky.

warmeNussmischung und ein Johnnie Walker Black Label Scotch Whisky

warme Nussmischung und ein Johnnie Walker Black Label Scotch Whisky

Abendessen

Als Vorspeise gab es eine geräucherte Entenbrust an einem Waldorfsalat. Das Apfel-Senf-Püree passte hervorragend zum Fleisch. Zusätzlich stand auf dem Tablet noch ein gemischter Salat mit Vinaigrette. Zur Vorspeise wählte ich einen im Barrique gereiften Chardonnay aus der Region Niagara (Kanada).

geräucherte Entenbrust an einem Waldorfsalat

geräucherte Entenbrust an einem Waldorfsalat

Beim Hauptgang entschied ich mich für das gegrillte Rinderfilet mit Pfeffersoße, Kartoffelpüree und grünem Spargel. Die Fleischqualität war in Ordnung und vom Garpunkt genau richtig.

gegrilltes AAA Rinderfilet

gegrilltes AAA Rinderfilet

Vor dem Dessert ließ ich mir noch etwas Käse, Cracker und Weintrauben servieren, bevor es dann als krönenden Abschluss einen Zartbitterschokoladenfondant mit Haselnuss-Nougat und Preiselbeer-Himbeer-Kompott gab.

Zartbitterschokoladenfondant mit Haselnuss-Nougat und Preiselbeer-Himbeer-Kompott

Zartbitterschokoladenfondant mit Haselnuss-Nougat und Preiselbeer-Himbeer-Kompott

Frühstück

Das Frühstück wurde kurz vor Irland, also zirka 1:20 Stunden vor der Landung serviert. Schon vor dem Start hatte ich mich für ein amerikanisches Frühstück und einem warmen Blaubeermuffin entschieden. Zusammenfassend: Schmackhaft aber nichts Besonderes! Die Ruhe beim Frühstück wurde leider durch Turbulenzen etwas gestört, was den Genuss von koffeinhaltigen Heißgetränken erschwerte. ;)

Trotz des verspäteten Abfluges in Toronto setzten wir annähernd pünktlich am Flughafen London-Heathrow auf und dank dem ausgeteilten Fast Track Voucher war die Einreise nach England schnell erledigt.

Mehr Informationen zu Air Canada

Webseite:https://www.aircanada.com/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/aircanada/
Online Buchung:Expedia* oder Skyscanner*

Hat dir der Beitrag gefallen? Dann teile ihn doch in den sozialen Netzwerken. Damit unterstützt du unsere Arbeit. Hast du vielleicht schon Erfahrungen mit der Air Canada Business Class gemacht? Dann freue ich mich über deine Meinung in den Kommentaren.

Bewertung der Air Canada Business Class in der Boeing 777-300ER
  • Sitz
  • Service
  • Entertainment
  • Sauberkeit
  • Getränke
  • Essen
  • Preis/Leistung
4.1

Kurzfassung

Insgesamt war ich vom Air Canada Business Class Flug in der Boeing 777-300ER sehr beeindruckt. Der Service war freundlich und effizient, das Catering schmackhaft. Der Sitz bot ausreichend Stauraum, eine absenkbare Armlehne und als Highlight eine Massagefunktion. Im Gegensatz zur alten Bestuhlung „Classic Pod“ sind die „Executive Pod“-Sitze schräg in der sogenannten reverse Herringbone- oder Fischgrätenanordnung, also vom Gang abgewendet, verbaut. Zusammen mit einer Sichtblende schafft Air Canada eine angenehme Privatsphäre.

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ich akzeptiere