SWISS Airbus A340-300 economy class, Zurich to Singapore

According to plan we should be on the ground already at 16:30 from Berlin, arriving in Zurich. Due to the strong hurricane Niklas, we arrived only three hours later. From Gate A81 we ran in the direction of the SWISS Senator Lounge. On the Transfer switch had formed due to the many delays and long queues. Many passengers were not able to reach their connecting flights. Niklas had taken care of not only in Berlin but in the whole of Europe to Chaos.

SWISS Senator Lounge (Zurich)

The Lounge has been redesigned since our last visit in September 2013. The lower floor is now equipped with smaller groups of seats and larger tables with bar stools. The upper Buffet area, however, remained unchanged.

SWISS Senator Lounge Zürich

SWISS Senator Lounge Zürich

In the SWISS Senator Lounge in Zurich, the longest Lounge Bar in the world. At our last Visit I had thrown in here never to look. So I'll make this a short visit. As it turned out, unfortunately, that this is a Smoking bar, so I'm after a quick photo on our way back into the Lounge.

longest Lounge Bar in the world

longest Lounge Bar in the world

From the food supply this time we were disappointed. Thus, the leek and potato soup was cold, the vegetable noodles simply gone inedible and otherwise the selection quite low. Also, the Mövenpick ice was rationalized. Pity! So I allowed myself only a non-alcoholic beer Feldschlösschen.

In front of us 12 hours flight in the Economy Class to Singapore. In order to make us fresh, we will use this in the Lounge shower cabins and attracted us comfortable Jogging pants. Not-so-stylish, we were then on to the satellite terminal e. Here, all the International flights are handled, which leave the Schengen area. It comes with a small self-propelled train, the Skymetro. On the way, you should pay attention to the tunnel walls, since a short Film is shown, as before, the thumb cinema.

At Gate E34 arrived, I asked for the last Time after a possible Upgrade to Business Class. I had already at Check-in, saw that the Economy was fully booked and so we still had hope. But, unfortunately, it went in the end and Business and Economy were occupied to the last seat.

Gate E34

Gate E34

Flug SWISS LX 178 nach Singapur

Thanks to the Star Alliance Gold Status we were one of the First to get in and found an empty Economy. We sat today in the squares 31J and K in the rear and the last Economy cabin.

After the boarding was completed at 22:45, the menus were handed out. To choose from, there was chicken and a vegetable paella.
Shortly after reaching cruising altitude, began the service. Christian took the paella and I once tried the chicken. Both were ok - nothing more, nothing less. As a little nightcap after dinner, I drank a Vodka-Cola. Unfortunately, there is on board only Smirnoff.

A movie and a good 5 hours of sleep later, we woke up shortly after leaving the Indian mainland again. Now we had just over 3:45 hours ahead of us. About 1,400 kilometers from Singapore, the light is turned back on board and we were given a warm towel for refreshment.

Route LX 178 (Zurich to Singapore) (Source: flightaware.net)

Route LX 178 (Zurich to Singapore) (Source: flightaware.net)

SWISS A340-300 Winglets

SWISS A340-300 Winglets

Centers across the Straits of Malacca, 1:30 hours prior to arrival in Singapore, breakfast was served. When I studied the menu handed out in the evening, I was disappointed that there will be scrambled eggs. Had I but never received an edible scrambled eggs on the plane. But I tried it anyway and was more surprised than positive - delicious and with the croquettes and asparagus a super combination. In addition there was still fruit salad, yogurt, bread, coffee and orange juice Tetra Pak. I have appointed for 5 - had no more drinking packs in hand 6 years.

Breakfast SWISS Economy - delicious scrambled eggs

Frühstück SWISS Economy – leckeres Rührei

Following the Breakfast Service, we prepared ourselves for the arrival in Singapore. In our brought an Amenity Kit with a toothbrush, various creams and Deodorant. After we had made us fresh, we switched from the Jogging pants back in the Jeans. This is not in an aircraft toilet.

The first thing that struck us during the approach to Singpur, were the many Container ships, which are waiting to be finally in the port of unloading. After an unspectacular landing, stopped the Pilot on the A340-300 at 16:49, about 30 minutes earlier than scheduled at Gate E4.

Examined her still for a flight to Singapore?

The international airport of Singapore is open all year from many German cities. Cheap flights can be found on the online travel agencies such as Flugladen.de, Bravofly, ebookers.de, Expedia, lastminute.de or skyscanner.

After the problem-free entry, without much waiting time, we were able to take our Luggage. Unfortunately, we had missed the Hotel Shuttle to the Grand Mercure Roxy to 10 minutes and therefore had to wait 50 minutes. The information on the Shuttle Bus and a small Hotel stickers are available at the Ground Transportation Desk in the arrival level.

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2012 I live with my wife Christin in Halle (Saale). When travelling I love flying, discovering good food and drink and spending the night in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always looking for the next adventure. I have been reporting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

2 Responses

  1. Robert says:

    Swiss makes a really good Job. For the next flights as an Alternative. When will opened a new Lounge at Dock E?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I confirm

SWISS Airbus A340-300 Economy Class, Zürich nach Singapur

Planmäßig sollten wir schon 16:30 Uhr aus Berlin kommend in Zürich landen. Aufgrund des starken Orkans Niklas, kamen wir erst drei Stunden später an. Vom Gate A81 liefen wir in Richtung der SWISS Senator Lounge. Am Transfer-Schalter hatten sich aufgrund der vielen Verspätungen schon lange Schlangen gebildet. Viele Passagiere konnten ihre Anschlussflüge ja leider nicht mehr erreichen. Niklas hatte also nicht nur in Berlin, sondern in ganz Europa für Chaos gesorgt.

SWISS Senator Lounge (Zürich)

Die Lounge wurde seit unserem letzten Besuch im September 2013 überarbeitet. So ist die untere Etage jetzt mit kleineren Sitzgruppen und größeren Tischen mit Barhockern ausgestattet. Der obere Buffet-Bereich blieb hingegen unverändert.

SWISS Senator Lounge Zürich

SWISS Senator Lounge Zürich

In der SWISS Senator Lounge Zürich befindet sich die längste bediente Lounge-Bar der Welt. Bei unseren vergangenen Besuchen hatte ich hier nie einen Blick hinein geworfen. Also statte ich dieser diesmal einen kurzen Besuch ab. Es stellte sich leider heraus, dass diese eine Raucherbar ist, so bin ich nach einem kurzen Foto auch gleich wieder zurück in die Lounge.

längste bediente Lounge-Bar der Welt

längste bediente Lounge-Bar der Welt

Vom Essensangebot waren wir diesmal enttäuscht. So war die Lauch-Kartoffelsuppe kalt, die Gemüsespätzle schlicht weg ungenießbar und ansonsten die Auswahl recht gering. Auch das Mövenpick Eis wurde wegrationalisiert. Schade! Also gönnte ich mir lediglich ein alkoholfreies Feldschlösschen Bier.

Vor uns lagen 12 Stunden Flug in der Economy Class nach Singapur. Um uns nochmal frisch zu machen, nutzen wir die in der Lounge vorhanden Duschkabinen und zogen uns danach bequeme Jogginghosen an. Nicht mehr ganz so stilvoll, machten wir uns anschließend auf zum Satellitenterminal E. Hier werden alle Internationalen Flüge abgefertigt, welche den Schengen-Raum verlassen. Dorthin kommt man mit einer kleinen selbstfahrenden Bahn – der Skymetro. Unterwegs sollte man auf die Tunnelwände achten, da hier ein kurzer Film gezeigt wird – wie früher das Daumenkino.

Am Gate E34 angekommen, fragte ich ein letztes Mal nach einem möglichen Upgrade in die Business Class. Ich hatte schon beim Check-in gesehen, dass die Economy komplett ausgebucht war und so hatten wir noch Hoffnung. Aber leider ging es am Ende doch auf und Business und Economy waren bis auf den letzten Platz besetzt.

Gate E34

Gate E34

Flug SWISS LX 178 nach Singapur

Dank des Star Alliance Gold-Status durften wir als einer der Ersten einsteigen und fanden eine noch leere Economy vor. Wir saßen heute auf den Plätzen 31J und K im hinteren und letzten Economy-Abteil.

Nachdem das Boarding um 22:45 Uhr abgeschlossen war, wurden die Speisekarten ausgeteilt. Zur Auswahl gab es Hühnchen und eine Gemüsepaella.
Schon kurz nach erreichen der Reiseflughöhe begann der Service. Christin nahm die Paella und ich probierte einmal das Hühnchen. Beides war ok – nicht mehr und nicht weniger. Als kleiner Absacker nach dem Essen, trank ich noch eine Vodka-Cola. Leider gibt es an Bord nur Smirnoff.

Einen Film und gut 5 Stunden Schlaf später, wachten wir kurz nach dem Verlassen des indischen Festlandes wieder auf. Jetzt hatten wir nur noch gut 3:45 Stunden vor uns. Zirka 1400 Kilometer entfernt von Singapur wurde das Licht an Bord wieder eingeschaltet und wir bekamen ein warmes Tuch zur Erfrischung.

Flugroute LX 178 (Zürich nach Singapur) (Quelle: flightaware.net)

Flugroute LX 178 (Zürich nach Singapur) (Quelle: flightaware.net)

SWISS A340-300 Winglets

SWISS A340-300 Winglets

Mitten über der Straße von Malakka, 1:30 Stunden vor der Ankunft in Singapur, wurde das Frühstück serviert. Als ich am Abend das ausgeteilte Menü studierte, war ich enttäuscht, dass es  Rührei geben wird. Hatte ich doch noch nie im Flugzeug ein essbares Rührei bekommen. Aber ich probierte es trotzdem und war mehr als positiv überrascht – lecker und mit den Kroketten und dem Spargel eine super Kombination. Dazu gab es dann noch Fruchtsalat, Jogurt, Brötchen, Kaffee und einen Tetra Pak Orangensaft. Ich habe bestimmt seit 5 – 6 Jahren kein Trinkpäckchen mehr in der Hand gehabt.

Frühstück SWISS Economy - leckeres Rührei

Frühstück SWISS Economy – leckeres Rührei

Im Anschluss an den Frühstücks-Service bereiteten wir uns auf die Ankunft in Singapur vor. In unserem mitgebrachten Amenity-Kit befand sich eine Zahnbürste, verschiedene Cremes und Deodorant. Nachdem wir uns frisch gemacht hatten, wechselten wir von der Jogginghose wieder zurück in die Jeans. Das ist in einer Flugzeugtoilette gar nicht so einfach.

Das erste was uns beim Anflug auf Singpur auffiel, waren die vielen verschiedenen Container-Schiffe, welche darauf warten endlich im Hafen entladen zu werden. Nach einer unspektakulären Landung, stoppte der Pilot die A340-300 um 16:49 Uhr, ca. 30 Minuten früher als geplant, am Gate E4.

Sucht ihr noch nach einem Flug nach Singapur?

Der Internationale Flughafen von Singapur ist ganzjährig von vielen deutschen Städten zu erreichen. Günstige Flüge, findet ihr über die Onlinereisebüros wie z.B. Flugladen.de, Bravofly, ebookers.deExpedialastminute.de oder skyscanner.

Nach der problemlosen Einreise, ohne viel Wartezeit, konnten wir auch sofort unser Gepäck entgegennehmen. Leider hatten wir den Hotel-Shuttle zum Grand Mercure Roxy um 10 Minuten verpasst und mussten somit 50 Minuten warten. Die Informationen zum Shuttle Bus und einen kleinen Hotel Aufkleber bekommt man übrigens am Ground Transportation Schalter in der Ankunftsebene.

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

2 Antworten

  1. Robert sagt:

    Swiss macht echt einen guten Job. Für die kommenden Flüge bestimmt mal eine Alternative. Wann wird die neue Lounge am Dock E eröffnet?

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ich akzeptiere