Road Trip USA (Midwest): Tulip Festival in Holland

After two eventful days in Chicago, we are now starting our road trip through the Midwestern United States. Our first day's destination was the city of Cadillac, Michigan. On the way we visited the largest tulip festival in Holland. What we looked at also, you experience the following article.

After a hearty breakfast at the Hilton Chicago (our review) We packed our bags, the car picked up from the car park and stowed everything in the trunk. We left Chicago via Interstate-94 eastbound. The partial six-lane highway was crowded at that time of day. Although I use the cruise control our rental car has always hired 5 mph (8 km / h) higher than allowed, we were on either side of the car as outdated and trucks. to be surrounded by two large trucks, is not a very pleasant feeling!

Road Trip with our rental car

Road Trip with our rental car

Tulip Festival in Holland

After a brief stop in Michigan Welcome Center off Interstate-94, we drove to our first day's destination: Holland. Holland? Yes, we still we were in the US – more specifically in the state of Michigan. The small town of Holland was founded in 1847 by European settlers from the Netherlands. This European influence was present at various points of the city. So there were such. Including a restaurant Alpenrose and shops with German names.

Restaurant Alpenrose

Restaurant Alpenrose

One day before our arrival took place the annual Tulip Festival in Holland. Since 1929 this every year is celebrated in May. At that time, 250,000 tulips planted, already 6 million raised in the city. Flower lovers can admire free the flower beds along the streets, urban parks and in front of public buildings.

We parked our rental car in a side street at Centennial Park. The variety of different tulips true amazing and everything blossomed in various colors. Unique! Then we walked two blocks to the main shopping street. we could not go past a fudge store and bought a piece of salted caramel fudge. Really delicious and typical of the Midwest.

Main shopping street in Holland

Main shopping street in Holland

Selection in the Fudge Store

Selection in the Fudge Store

salted caramel fudge

salted caramel fudge

Windmill Island Gardens

Well rested we went to the Windmill Iceland Gardens. Here indeed was a typical windmill as they would have in a Dutch village can stand. To this watching of the Middle, but you pay as an adult is 10 USD. We saved our money and looked only once from a distance. For us Western Europeans are windmills also nothing so special.

Windmill Island Gardens

Windmill Island Gardens

After 1 ½ hour drive on US 131 heading north, we arrived in Cadillac. This small town we had chosen as a goal for the day. After check-in at the Hampton Inn Cadillac, we got us two pizzas at Dominos. Here we had totally misjudged us in the ordered size, so unfortunately, a lot was left.

Road Trip USA (Midwest) – route details

Tagtotal
Kilometer: 289.3 mi (465.58 km) 343.5 mi (552.81 km)
Driving time: 05:32:57 09:02:58
Consumption: 31,8 mpg 29,5 mpg
Ride costs: 42,03 USD 42,03 USD
Overnight stay: Hampton Inn Cadillac – 75 USD (available at Hilton*)

Did you enjoy the post? Then share it but in the social networks. So you supported our work. Have you been on a road trip through the United States possibly even in the Midwest? I am pleased with your opinion in the comments.

Evaluation of Road Trips from Chicago to Cadillac
  • tulip Festival
  • Windmill Island Gardens
4

Christian

My name is Christian and I was born in the green heart of Germany and studied computer engineering in Ilmenau, Thuringia. Since 2012 I live with my wife Christin in Halle (Saale). When travelling I love flying, discovering good food and drink and spending the night in great hotels. I am a travel enthusiast and always looking for the next adventure. I have been reporting about my experiences on the road since 2007.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

I confirm

Roadtrip USA (Mittlerer Westen): Tulpen Festival in Holland

Nach zwei erlebnisreichen Tagen in Chicago, startenden wir nun zu unserem Roadtrip durch den Mittleren Westen der USA. Unser erstes Tagesziel war die Stadt Cadillac im Bundesstaat Michigan. Unterwegs besuchten wir das größte Tulpen Festival in Holland. Was wir uns außerdem angesehen haben, erfahrt ihr im folgenden Beitrag.

Nach einem ausgiebigen Frühstück im Hilton Chicago (unserer Hotelbewertung) packten wir unsere Koffer, holten das Auto aus dem Parkhaus und verstauten alles im Kofferraum. Wir verließen Chicago über die Interstate-94 in Richtung Osten. Die teilweise sechsspurig ausgebaute Autobahn war zu dieser Tageszeit ziemlich voll. Obwohl ich den Tempomaten unseres Mietwagens schon immer 5 mph (ca. 8 km/h) höher als erlaubt einstellte, wurden wir links und rechts von Autos als auch Lastwagen überholt. Von zwei großen Lkws umzingelt zu sein, ist kein sehr angenehmes Gefühl!

Roadtrip mit unserem Mietwagen

Roadtrip mit unserem Mietwagen

Tulpen Festival in Holland

Nach einem kurzen Stopp im Michigan Welcome Center an der Interstate-94, fuhren wir weiter zu unserem ersten Tagesziel: Holland. Holland? Ja, wir befanden uns immer noch in den USA – genauer gesagt im Bundesstaat Michigan. Die Kleinstadt Holland wurde 1847 durch europäische Siedler aus den Niederlanden gegründet. Dieser europäische Einfluss war an verschiedenen Stellen der Stadt präsent. So gab es z. B. ein Restaurant Alpenrose und Geschäfte mit deutschsprachigen Namen.

Restaurant Alpenrose

Restaurant Alpenrose

Einen Tag vor unserer Ankunft fand in Holland das jährliche Tulpen Festival statt. Seit 1929 wird dieses jedes Jahr im Mai zelebriert. Damals wurden 250.000 Tulpen gepflanzt, heute wachsen in der ganzen Stadt schon 6 Millionen. Blumenliebhaber können die Blumenbeete entlang der Straßen, städtischer Parks und vor öffentlichen Gebäuden kostenfrei bestaunen.

Wir parkten unser Mietauto in einer Seitenstraße am Centennial Park. Die Vielfalt an unterschiedlichen Tulpen wahr erstaunlich und alles blühte in den verschiedensten Farben. Einzigartig! Anschließend liefen wir zwei Blöcke in die Haupteinkaufsstraße. An einem Fudge Store konnten wir nicht vorbei gehen und kauften ein Stück gesalzenes Karamel Fudge. Wirklich lecker und typisch für den Mittleren Westen.

Haupteinkaufsstraße in Holland

Haupteinkaufsstraße in Holland

Auswahl im Fudge Store

Auswahl im Fudge Store

gesalzenes Karamel Fudge

gesalzenes Karamel Fudge

Windmill Island Gardens

Frisch gestärkt fuhren wir zum Windmill Island Gardens. Hier befand sich tatsächlich eine typische Windmühle, wie sie auch in einem holländischen Dorf hätte stehen können. Um sich diese von Nahen anzuschauen, zahlt man als Erwachsener allerdings 10 USD. Wir sparten uns das Geld und schauten nur einmal von der Ferne. Für uns Westeuropäer sind Windmühlen ja auch nichts so Besonderes.

Windmill Island Gardens

Windmill Island Gardens

Nach 1 ½ Stunden Autofahrt auf der US-131 in Richtung Norden kamen wir in Cadillac an. Dieses kleine Städtchen hatten wir uns als Tagesziel ausgesucht. Nach dem Check-in im Hampton Inn Cadillac, holten wir uns noch zwei Pizzen bei Dominos. Hier hatten wir uns bei der bestellten Größe total verschätzt, sodass leider eine Menge übrig blieb.

Roadtrip USA (Mittlerer Westen) –  Routendetails

TagGesamt
Kilometer: 289,3 mi (465,58 km) 343,5 mi (552,81 km)
Fahrzeit: 05:32:57 09:02:58
Verbrauch: 31,8 mpg 29,5 mpg
Fahrtkosten: 42,03 USD 42,03 USD
Übernachtung: Hampton Inn Cadillac – 75 USD (buchbar bei Hilton*)

Hat dir der Beitrag gefallen? Dann teile ihn doch in den sozialen Netzwerken. Damit unterstützt du unsere Arbeit. Warst du schon auf einem Roadtrip in den USA unterwegs evtl. sogar im Mittleren Westen? Dann freue ich mich über deine Meinung in den Kommentaren.

Bewertung des Roadtrips von Chicago nach Cadillac
  • Tulpen Festival
  • Windmill Island Gardens
4

Christian

Mein Name ist Christian und ich bin im grünen Herzen Deutschlands geboren und habe im thüringischen Ilmenau Ingenieurinformatik studiert. Seit 2012 wohne ich mit meiner Frau Christin in Halle (Saale). Am Reisen liebe ich das Fliegen, das Entdecken von gutem Essen und Trinken und das Übernachten in tollen Hotels. Ich bin reisebegeistert und immer auf der Suche nach dem nächsten Abenteuer. Über meine Erlebnisse von unterwegs berichte ich schon seit 2007.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Ich akzeptiere